Banana Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
My mom is a tiny little thing with a hearty appetite and a real appreciation for good food. But she likes to watch her figure. Knowing she'd have her martini at the house before we took her out to dinner last night, I never thought this cake would fit into the scenario for the evening. But she tried a "taste," finished a decent-sized piece and after dinner took another 4 pieces home, individually wrapped. It hooked her. As for Hubs, he rarely eats dessert in the evening, particularly chocolate. But he relented, sat to himself, and enjoyed a little slice, followed by another, perfectly content, just he and his cake. Make no mistake - this is NOT banana bread covered in frosting, provided your technique is correct. Cream the butter and sugar, add eggs one at at a time, then the vanilla. Stir in the bananas. Then add the flour, in three additions with the buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour, just until combined. This is a light and fluffy cake, with a more aerated rather than dense crumb - and it's plenty sweet, particularly if you use nearly black bananas, as I did. I'm glad I topped it with Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting (an amended version to make it more chocolatey) to kind of temper that sweetness. I coated the sides lightly with toasted chopped pecans and garnished the top with dark chocolate curls and dried banana chips. This is a three-tiered showpiece. Normally this would have gone to the office with Hubs. This time, at his request, it stayed home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
very good!! I love this simple recipe :-) tried the alternate version of buttermilk with a tablespoon of vinergar and a cup of milk :-) just wonderful! I baked it in a mini muffin pan my son just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Delicious. Not as heavy as banana bread, not quite as light as a cake.. but it was just right in the middle. I made this for my son's birthday and I found it to be a nice change from the usual white or yellow cake. I topped it with the banana butter icing from this site and it was a perfect match. I received compliments from all who had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I made this last night and the flavor is very good. The only changes in the recipe I made was with the sugar and buttermilk. I didnt have any buttermilk and didnt want to make a trip to the store for just that so I did the old substitution with milk and lemon juice, The cake was very heavy tho. Not like a cake at all but more like a banana bread. I made it in a bundt pan. I too decreased the sugar to 1 cup but it was still very sweet. My grandkids LOVED it tho. All in all a good recipe for taste.. just not as light as a cake would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I make a BIG A Banana Cake for my Daughter's Birthday every year and I have become bored with the recipe that I have been using... I just made this recipe into 28 cupcakes for my Daughters class tomorrow and it is SUPER YUMMY. I had an idea that it would be good when I saw her lick the spatula clean but it is truly yummy. I will use this recipe for a long time. Thank You for Sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Great Banana flavor, but I am looking for a more cake-like, fluffy texture, this was more like banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I used this recipe to build a sculpted birthday cake (shape of a monkey.) The recipe was nice and sturdy and shaved off well. So if you're into that sort of creative thing, this is a great recipe! And tastes delicious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I made this as a birthday cake for my mom, and we both loved it. For extra banana flavor, I added a box of banana flavored instant pudding to the batter. My mom wanted a cake that tasted like a banana split, so I also mixed in about a half a bag of semisweet chocolate chips. I used strawberry jelly in between cake layers, frosted the cake with chocolate frosting, and topped it with coconut. It turned out amazingly. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I used a bundt pan and made a banana pound cake. I used 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown sugar...that was plenty. I also added about 2 tsp. of cinnamon. I believe that bananas, brown sugar and cinnamon harmonize so I included them in this cake. I skipped on the icing but would recommend using one. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Heavenly banana flavor! Frosted this delicious treat with a cream cheese icing into which I blended a mashed banana,and a bit of vanilla. Even better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States