Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
If you love banana bread, you will love these! They taste just like it. I used butter for shortening and cinnamon for cloves and choc chips because the kids don't like nuts. Everyone loved them. Very soft and cake like. You need to like a soft cookie to like these though. I drizzled the glaze on top, but they were great without it too. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
tastes like muffin tops. they are a little sweet. My husband thinks they are really good. one of my kids refuses to try it because it is a banana cookie. I added chocolate chips to some of them, and those are the ones that got eaten first. Did not add nuts due to allergies, nor cloves/cinnamon due to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessaca
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Not bad. They have a nice mild taste. Like banana bread but in a cookie. :). Didn't make the frosting. Just had them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Omg amazing , so soft they wont stick around for long .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
very good. Instead of the frosting i added white and milk chocolate chips on top. yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I feel like it's probably a good base recipe, but is missing something. I thought the soft, cakey texture was the highlight of this cookie. The taste was bland. In fact, I reread the recipe after I prepared it, thinking I surely must have left something out. I did use cinnamon instead of the clove, and even a bit of nutmeg, but the taste of the cookie was still disappointing and unlively. I used chopped peanuts instead of the pecans. I feel as though the nuts helped to give some flavor to an otherwise unremarkable recipe. After I baked half of the batch, I threw some chocolate chips in the remaining batter (and this was, to me, a batter, not a dough). In my opinion this salvaged the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Excellent soft cookie. Great texture and taste. I didn't have a full cup of mashed bananas so I added about 1/4 cup applesauce to fill the cup. Also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Cookies were done in 8 minutes and I made them big! No need for icing, they are great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These cookies were a huge hit at our recent party. They tasted absolutely amazing!I did follow the suggestions of others & substituted butter in place of the shortening & cinnamon for cloves. Also because I was trying to visit with a friend & make these at the same time I completely forgot to add the eggs but to my surprise you would have never even known they were missing. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsMiller
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am pretty obsessive about reading reviews of recipes for alterations before trying one. I didn't really alter much here. I did sub cinnamon for the cloves (as that is what I had) and I probably ended up with about 1 and 1/4 cup banana as I went ahead and just mashed three. I omitted the nuts and added dark chocolate chips. I did need extra milk for the icing as the recipe suggested (and I didn't measure here... but it was 3 "splashes") and I poured it into a bag, clipped the edge, and drizzled it over the cookies. They came out great and are really cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States