Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
These cookies were excellent--really soft and moist! I made a few changes though: I used margarine instead of the shortening, cinnamon in lieu of the cloves, and 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips in place of the nuts. I didn't do the icing either (I don't think they need it!). I made these yesterday, and they're almost all gone!! I will definietly make thse again when I have "leftover" bananas. Thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These are very yummy cookies!! I knew they would be soft from the name obviously but I do wish I could find a crunchier banana cookie. Anyway, I did accidentally add an extra banana to this recipe and then read reviews to see most people did this and was relieved! Also, I added a tbs of banana extract and some allspice for good measure. Very good strong flavor and nice texture. I am absolutely amazed when I read anyone got flat cookies, they puffed up for me almost immediately and didnt spread too much so I had quite a few on my cookie sheet, which i used parchment paper on. Great recipe, and by the way I didnt even bother with any icing. May be a nice extra but I didn't even feel they needed anything else. Might try for fun sometime though! :) UPDATE: I mailed this to my husband in Iraq and took him 2 weeks to get them and he is obsessed with them and cant wait for me to send more. Just wanted to pass that along, be sure and vacuum seal them but that they keep well! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELM82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
These are like cookie-shaped banana cakes - yummy! I drizzled the icing on instead of dunking them, and used only 2 cups of icing sugar, reducing the other icing ingredients accordingly.... found this was still too much icing, so if you're really concerned about wasting your icing sugar, try cutting back even more than I did. Light and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I don't like overripe bananas, so this recipe is a perfect way to use them. Makes delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Broadways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This is a very quick cookie to make! My kids devoured them! I put the icing in a Ziploc bag and the end off to drizzle over the top-I am going to use this recipe for when it is my son's turn to bring a treat to preschool and write each childs name on the cookie with the icing! =-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Banana "Cake" Cookies, indeed! Very moist. I used whole wheat flour and Splenda brown sugar. And following a few suggestions I substituted butter for shortening and cinnamon for clove. I used 1/3 of the icing recipe and it was enough. Taste so much like banana bread! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Next time I would double the amount of nuts. I will make these again. They were very moist. I think I would like to "fiddle" with the icing a little bit. I shared some with friends and they liked them more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were pretty good i had a couple of ripe bananas i wanted to use up! im so glad i did i also added some chopped up apple yummy!! also i didnt add the nuts or the frosting didnt have the ingredients on hand but cant waite to make these again as written!these tasted just like banana bread i will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were good the first day, but by the second day, the icing was melting into the cookies and they were becoming a mushy mess. They do have a good banana flavor and are definitely a cakey cookie, but probably won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Even my father--- who hates bananas, loved the cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States