Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I made these cookies for the first time today. It won't be the last!!! 2 bananas made 1 cup mashed. I left out the cloves, as I was adding cinnamon chips. Also, my kids loved the cookies before I had a chace to glaze them. The cookies were soft and a little chewy at the edges. Another great use for overripe bananas. Thanks, Robin, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I used this recipe as a base and made a lot of changes. I use butter instead of shortening, only 2/3 c brown sugar, 3 ripe bananas, and substituted 1 cup of wheat flour for 1 cup of the all purpose. I used 1 tsp cinnamon and no cloves. I also added 1/2 c whole oats and 1/4 c ground flax. I did not add icing. My 2 year old loved them and I didn't feel too bad about him eating them as a snack. Next time I'll sub some applesauce in for part of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Warning: ADDICTIVE! These cookies are great; they're moist, flavorful, and easy! I decided not to add the frosting, but added chocolate chips instead. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My daughter made these (with a little help). She didn't want the nuts so we left them out. I missed them, she didn't. Everyone enjoyed these cookies and they went quickly. We did substitute half whole wheat flour and I addedd a bit of nutmeg, maybe 1/4 tsp, just because I really like it. Will definately use this recipe again. We used 3 bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I modified this recipe slightly. I used ground cinnamon instead of cloves and walnuts instead of pecans (just what I had on hand). These cookies came out so fluffy and yummy. Also, for the icing, I cut the ingredients in half. Then I piped lines across the cookies after they had cooled. The result is a nice sweet topping that isn't too much to overpower the cookie. I got a lot of good feedback from people I gave these to, so this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very good! like banana bread with icing. loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used this recipe exactly as written & got RAVE reviews at a Christmas party and at my daughter's school. Everyone LOVES these "cakey-cookies" with or without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
TOo sweet. Use less sugar. Other than getting a tooth ache these were scrumptous. I would recommend using more banana to get that great banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I gave it 3 because it is good but isnt anything special, mine looked like little blobs of banana bread and I would rather just go all the way and make my moms banana bread recipe. not bad but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These are not cookies. They are muffin tops. If you want *very* cakey cookies they're ok. Definitely do the icing and add more spice to the batter- they're bland without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States