Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These were very good. I made some adjustments...I added a little extra banana which seemed to be a good idea. I substituted toffee and chocolate chips instead of nuts. I decided to forgo the icing since they were sweet enough. They were very moist, almost like eating just the top of a banana muffin rather than a cookie. I added extra clove and even a little cinnamon too but still couldn’t taste either spice much, so if your objective is a spicier cookie I would play around with adding more spices. I like them softer but I left one batch in the oven a few minutes longer and got a little crunchier outside but they were still soft on the inside. Overall a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made these cookies today so I could use up the last two bananas of the bunch. They are very good. Moist and tasty. Although, as another reviewer noted, these are more like banana cakes in cookie form. They aren't a firm cookie consistency at all. That being said, they are delicious and a wonderful way to use up bananas that are just about to be too ripe. I drizzled chocolate icing over them my husband declared them PERFECT! Also, make sure that when you drop them on the cookie sheet you aren't using too much. These spread quite a bit. I was only putting 6 per sheet and the first batch resulted in a couple running together. Smaller scoops fixed that right up and they were prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very good! I took these to work & they were a hit with everyone. Not too sweet, and very moist. I kept them in the fridge in an airtight container because it's been very hot & humid here. Only changes I made were cinnamon in place of the nutmeg & walnuts in place of pecans, simply because I didn't have the other ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyJn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liisa
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I looooved these! I had some extra bananas that were going bad so I thought Id try this one out, I would definitely make again! The only thing I changed was I used walnuts instead of pecans because its all I had on hand. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were good the first day, but by the second day, the icing was melting into the cookies and they were becoming a mushy mess. They do have a good banana flavor and are definitely a cakey cookie, but probably won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made these cookies and found them to be extremely simple. I omitted pecans and substituted cinnamon for cloves as suggested. I toyed with the idea of adding peanut butter to the recipe (as I usually play around) but am glad I didn't. The recipe was a hit. the cookies are SO moist and fluffy and delicious. I also baked a few with chocolate chips and those were also great. Thanks for an awesome recipe. I am a banana lover and always looking for banana recipes that others will also enjoy if they aren't crazy about bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
easy to make - again great way to use up that old banana. I used butter - always use butter. Instead of pecans I put in chocolate chips. Did not make the frosting as I don't think it needed it with the choc. chips. Love the cake like texture - I added vanilla to the batter and instead of cloves i used nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum these cookies are scrumptious! Great way to use up old bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Family loved these cookies! Made exactly as the recipe calls for except that one time I put homemade chocolate sauce over them and the other, instead of Vanilla to the frosting I added strawberry flavoring(I am a lover of strawberry/banana combination) and OMG they were FANTABULOUS!!!! :) Definitely like a cake cookie, and a keeper at that! :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33

Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States