Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
easy to make - again great way to use up that old banana. I used butter - always use butter. Instead of pecans I put in chocolate chips. Did not make the frosting as I don't think it needed it with the choc. chips. Love the cake like texture - I added vanilla to the batter and instead of cloves i used nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum these cookies are scrumptious! Great way to use up old bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Family loved these cookies! Made exactly as the recipe calls for except that one time I put homemade chocolate sauce over them and the other, instead of Vanilla to the frosting I added strawberry flavoring(I am a lover of strawberry/banana combination) and OMG they were FANTABULOUS!!!! :) Definitely like a cake cookie, and a keeper at that! :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made these with my 2 year old in mind, always asking for a cookie. Here are the changes I made, I used half the butter and subd the other halft with applesauce, I used one cup oatmeal ground down to a flour, I used pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon, I only used one egg all I had, and added some spiced apples I made from the night before to use up and a little chopped chocolate. I did have to add some flour at the end to come to the right consistancy. Baked them for 9 minutes and they are delightful. They are cake like but we dont care. Perfect alternate way to use up bananas and plus a healthier cookie my girl loves..Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Incredible. I just made these and they were absolutely delicious. They are definitely more like a muffin top then an actual cookie. Very soft and cake like. I made some changes. 1 c white & 1 c wheat flour. I didn't have any ground cloves so i used 1 tsp cinnamon & 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Used 2 large bananas and instead of 1 cup shortening i substituted with a mix of butter & applesauce. Did not make the sauce on top as it's made for my 2yr old and i don't want it melting all over him. It tasted great just as is. Also used lots of pecans. I have never really used wheat flour to bake before because i was afraid of the change in taste but these were just so good. My 2 yr old loved them which is the whole point :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were good... tasted like moist slices of banana bread. I would rather make the bread as it is quicker and easier to store. But the cookies were a fun try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Oh my! These are yummy! Made these exactly as written except used half white-whole wheat flour (from Trader Joe's) and added 1 tsp cinnamon. I didn't measure the banana, just used all I had. They were a little flat, but still very cake-like. Probably because I used shortening. Sometimes it's not interchangeable with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These cookies were soooo good! I added chocolate chips instead of the nuts and they were delicious! My husband and I couldn't put them down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States