Banana Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The cookie was good. The cloves overpowered the banana flavor. I will make these again bur will with eliminate the cloves or substitute cinnamon for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was on the fence rating this recipe. As others have said, they're cake-like, consistent with a muffin top. Very light and airy. I'm not quite sure what to make of them. I was hoping for a more dense texture. Switching out the shortening with butter would be a wise idea, as well as adding additional spices. Hubs likes them, but I don't think I'll be rushing to make these again with my overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Yummy, just what I was looking for. I didn't have pecans, but I had dried dates, which are a nice treat. I dropped generous spoonfuls of dough and got about 30 cookies. I only used about half of the frosting. Not sure it's needed; they'd probably be good without, or with sprinkled powdered sugar instead. I'd probably make these again. My five year old head fun helping mash the bananas and measure the dry ingredients. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Perfect flavor! I followed recipe for the cookies exactly and omitted the icing. As some others mentioned, this is more like a muffin top. Sort of a spongy cakey consistency, in a good way. The name of the cookie is apt: "banana cake". My three medium bananas made one cup. The "dough" is the same consistency as for banana bread so I used a tablespoon and loaded the tray like a drop cookie. Mine yielded 24 3" cookies. I left trays in for 14 minutes at 350. I may substitute butter next time, as I am not a fan of shortening. That will yield a flatter cookie. And maybe add a smidge of vanilla. But this one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was great I did it with my 4 year old niece it was simple and fun. The cookies are sooo tender. I added about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of cloves as well as vanilla about a tsp as well. Amazing!!! Will do again!! Oh and 4 Banana s didn't bother measuring it just used them all up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good cookies! easy and quick, good for overripe bananas (I used 3 medium ones). I'm making these for Christmas and now I'm ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Very good. Added 1 cup of creamy peanut butter and they where excellent. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very good. I thirded the frosting. I can't even imagine using the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
These are wonderful! I made them with chocolate chips and didn't try the icing because of laziness. They were very popular at my house and were eaten up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These are very good. I think that the cookie part needs a little more sweetness (even with VERY ripe bananas). Other than that, they're oh-so-soft and delectable! A cream cheese icing would be really good, too, on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States