Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Attempted to make twice...the first time I followed the directions as written, mixing everything but the powdered sugar all at once...DON'T DO THIS! The banana puree and lemon juice will NOT cream with the butter properly. Instead, cream the butter on its own, then add the powdered sugar in small batches. Alternate adding sugar and banana puree until it's fluffy and creamy. It has a nice banana flavor and thick texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Here's a foolproof order for adding these ingredients together in order to NOT get a glaze: Mash 1/2 of the greenest NEVER FROZEN banana you have, add 1/2 tsp. lemon juice (or lime juice, but there is no other substitute here, the citric acid is key) and your vanilla into a bowl. Measure out your confectioner's sugar or at least part of it. Cream butter alone (make sure your butter is NOT soft enough to hold an indentation - usually 30 minutes for me). Begin adding in sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, continue creaming it in, add ALL your banana mixture, cream that in, continue adding in sugar in 1/2 cup measures. I wound up adding more lemon juice, myself, to counteract the sugar. I've iced all 18 of AR's "Banana Cupcakes" with this & it's in the fridge -- I may revise this review if it's brown in the morning :=) Thanks for the recipe! (Note: I used 3 drops of yellow food coloring.) UPDATE: As of the following morning, my refrigerated iced cupcakes had NOT turned brown or discolored or wept in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Highly addictive! A banana that is slightly green on the tips and well mashed works best. I have found that using an overripe banana will make it too sweet and a lot softer. To prevent it from turning brown, don’t forget to add the lemon juice. Thank you for sharing this recipe it is now my favorite frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Really good and not too sweet. I did take the advice of others and added a twist of my own. Pureed one banana in the food processor, used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1/4 c., used only 2 c. of icing sugar and the twist was 1/3 cup of cocoa powder. YUMMY! Used this icing on a dark chocolate cake. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Great icing for kids, and so easy! I halved the recipe & used it on one 9x9 inch white cake (the "Simple White Cake" from this Web site). Perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
I could not get this receipe to thicken up. I ended up using about a box and 1/4 of powdered sugar, and it was still runny. At that point, even if it had thickened, it was now way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
i'd recommend putting the bananas through a food strainer -- it removes the black specks and improves the overall appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Used this on the A-Number-1 Banana Cake on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
Simply delicious! Went great with the banana cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent!! At first I was extremely frustrated that is was very thin and almost a liquid. I left it in the bowl and let it sit in the fridge over night. The next day I had a PERFECT frosting!!! I make home made frosting all the time so I can say with great confidence that this is a great frosting if you let it sit over night. I doubled the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy Red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States