Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Very good. Great Banana flavor. Used it on Strawberry cupcakes with chocolate pieces on top. Calling it Banana Split Cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I only used 2 cups of sugar, and it was still sickeningly sweet with a strange aftertaste. I added some more lemon juice to try and tone it down, which helped, but I still couldn't stomach it. My boyfriend liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Very nice. This was not too sweet for me and really tasted like bananas; it's not any sweeter than buttercream icing if you use 3 1/4 cups of the sugar. I mashed the banana with a potato masher, and beat everything in by hand, about 1/2 cup of sugar each time. Went great on Crazy Chocolate Cake, which is a ridicolously simple recipe from this site. Takes about 1 regular size banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This icing is difficult to work with and is way too sweet. I never thought there would be a day that I would think something was too sweet. I would only use it as a filling but don't ice the whole cake with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Goes great with banana cake. I should have mashed my bananas some more. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Summersville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Used this on the A-Number-1 Banana Cake on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Excellent flavour and consistency. Try adding cream cheese for a variation!! I used this to ice "A Number 1 Banana Cake" from this site. Deeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
What an excellent and easy recipe. We used this on the apple banana cupcake recipe from the site. Thanks for a great tasting frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This was great on chocolate cake with fresh strawberries on top! Nice light texture and very spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
"E X C E L L A N T!!!!EVEN THOUGH I DON'T LIKE SWEET ICING...THIS WAS GREAT ON THE BANNA II CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States