Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
It needs to have more 10x sugar but other than that, it is amazing with a banana cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armitagegirl82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Sorry, I thought it was to sweet and a waste of sugar, my husband thought it tasted like medicine. And we both love bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Excellent banana flavor, and super easy! I only made 1/2 the recipe (to frost cupcakes) and I didn't measure the banana I put in (just used a leftover one), and I had to use a TON of powdered sugar to get it to firm up enough to spread. I ended up just dipping the cupcake tops in the bowl, since it never really stiffened (even after using almost twice the sugar called for). Next time I'll measure better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
i'd recommend putting the bananas through a food strainer -- it removes the black specks and improves the overall appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I used this on a 9 X 13 chocolate cake. Very interesting, nice flavor, the bananas make it quite sweet. As others mentioned, it is a very soft icing so I don't think it would work well on a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was delicious! I didn't use the lemon juice, put on a banana cake, everyone loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was nice and easy, but a bit too sweet. I substituted one tablespoon of butter for low-fat cream cheese which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great recipe! If you find it a bit running, just add more icing sugar. I used it for golden cupcakes that were sort of boring and this really added the needed kick! It was amazing getting this banana flavor in the icing because you can really taste it. I would definitely make it again and add a bit more icing sugar to get a thicker consistency. Maybe even more bananas! Best icing recipe I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
You must try this frosting on the Crazy Chocolate Cake (also from this site) - you won't be sorry! This Banana Butter Frosting could be eaten by the spoonful, no problem! Thanks for sharing such a yummy recipe - I'm looking forward to trying it on a banana cake as well as a peanut butter cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
A very good and simple banana icing recipe it went great with my banana muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States