Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was fantastic. I made it to top off the recipe I found on this site for Cathy's Banana Bread (which was also wonderful). It added an even bolder banana flavor to the bread. I did end up adding quite a bit more powdered sugar in order to get the consistency I wanted. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Bunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Tastes wonderful with the white cake recipe on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is a great compliment to fresh baked banana bread. The recipe is simple and delicious. I will definitely be using this on all my banana breads and muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I do not usually make my own icing, but was interested in this one! I did add quite a bit more powdered sugar to get the consistency I wanted and of course this icing is VERY SWEET, but was perfect for the Simple White Cake recipe also on this site!! The only other thing I might change for future use is adding more banana to make it less sweet and more banana flavor. It is more of a pourable icing, not so spreadable, but was very good! Almost like a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was a really GOOD frosting!! It has a nice texture to it. Hint: add a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and it will knock your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I thought this would be a healthy type of frosting but this is not very good. Tasted like powdered sugar. I had to add a ton of shorting to make it look and act like a frosting. And it turned brown after 5 hours or so. By the time we ate it, it was brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarKitty
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Yummy - great with Apple-Banana Cupcakes - the only thing I did different was add 2 drops yellow food coloring... I'll post a photo of this soon. 5 stars - my new favorite frosting - better than cream cheese frosting if you ask me -- now i'd like to try making frosting with crushed pineapples - if it works with bananas - could do it with pineapples, too?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
We love this icing! We would recommend pushing the bananas through a sieve to reduce the amount of black flecks that show up in the actual icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Really good and not too sweet. I did take the advice of others and added a twist of my own. Pureed one banana in the food processor, used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1/4 c., used only 2 c. of icing sugar and the twist was 1/3 cup of cocoa powder. YUMMY! Used this icing on a dark chocolate cake. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I thought this icing was too thin. It needs to have a 1/4 c. shortening added to it to make it thick enough to frost a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States