Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was fantastic. I made it to top off the recipe I found on this site for Cathy's Banana Bread (which was also wonderful). It added an even bolder banana flavor to the bread. I did end up adding quite a bit more powdered sugar in order to get the consistency I wanted. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Bunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Tastes wonderful with the white cake recipe on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is a great compliment to fresh baked banana bread. The recipe is simple and delicious. I will definitely be using this on all my banana breads and muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I do not usually make my own icing, but was interested in this one! I did add quite a bit more powdered sugar to get the consistency I wanted and of course this icing is VERY SWEET, but was perfect for the Simple White Cake recipe also on this site!! The only other thing I might change for future use is adding more banana to make it less sweet and more banana flavor. It is more of a pourable icing, not so spreadable, but was very good! Almost like a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was a really GOOD frosting!! It has a nice texture to it. Hint: add a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and it will knock your socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I thought this would be a healthy type of frosting but this is not very good. Tasted like powdered sugar. I had to add a ton of shorting to make it look and act like a frosting. And it turned brown after 5 hours or so. By the time we ate it, it was brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarKitty
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Yummy - great with Apple-Banana Cupcakes - the only thing I did different was add 2 drops yellow food coloring... I'll post a photo of this soon. 5 stars - my new favorite frosting - better than cream cheese frosting if you ask me -- now i'd like to try making frosting with crushed pineapples - if it works with bananas - could do it with pineapples, too?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
We love this icing! We would recommend pushing the bananas through a sieve to reduce the amount of black flecks that show up in the actual icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Really good and not too sweet. I did take the advice of others and added a twist of my own. Pureed one banana in the food processor, used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1/4 c., used only 2 c. of icing sugar and the twist was 1/3 cup of cocoa powder. YUMMY! Used this icing on a dark chocolate cake. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I thought this icing was too thin. It needs to have a 1/4 c. shortening added to it to make it thick enough to frost a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

A refreshing smoothie, perfect for breakfast or snack-time.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States