Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
It was ok and guests liked it fine. But I do alot of pastries and thought it lacked. I think it's just too much powdered sugar for the amount of butter because it had the 10X sugar after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Ended up doubling this recipe because I had 2 bananas left over from making the Banana Cream Cheesecake (on this website) and it seemed very sweet to me. I couldn't get it to thicken up like I wanted it to, and the powdered sugar was making it too sweet, so I used some corn starch to help thicken and this took care of the "too sweet" flavor. EXCELLENT topping to that cake though, as long as you don't use too much. Great on vanilla ice cream too (with chocolate syrup and whipped cream and strawberries like a banana split!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Used this icing on the Banana Cake X & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Really good! Had to add the extra powdered sugar for what I needed it for. Also added a bit of banana extract. Gave it just the right taste of banana! Will use this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this to use on the Chocolate Banana cake recipe found on this site and it was perfect together! I was afraid this was going to be way too sweet with all that sugar but it was just divine! A must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hooligan77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Highly addictive! A banana that is slightly green on the tips and well mashed works best. I have found that using an overripe banana will make it too sweet and a lot softer. To prevent it from turning brown, don’t forget to add the lemon juice. Thank you for sharing this recipe it is now my favorite frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is the best frosting I've ever tasted in my entire life. The recipe is perfect as is and it only takes 5 minutes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Such an amazing frosting. I used the Banan Cake X from this website. The cake was very moist and you can use a cake mix with part of the recipe to speed things along. This icing was the perfect combination with that cake recipe. I made it for my family reunion and it got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Delicious! I used on the banana cake IV recipe and the coffee group loved it along with all the kids. Definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States