Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very good - but used much more sugar than recipe called for. Went well with a simple white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I used too ripe bananas and thought I'd use more and less butter...failed. I ended up with a very runny mixture. Stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I couldn't be more disappointed. The result was runny and sickening sweet. Against my better judgement, I iced the banana cake (actually poured it over the cake like a glaze). Although I wonder how some other reviewers made it "fluffy" and "mousse-like," I won't waste my time or ingredients to try it again--I'll move on and find another icing. If the site would allow, I'd give this recipe ZERO STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Easy icing to prepare. I like a strong banana flavor, so I added an extra banana. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Attempted to make twice...the first time I followed the directions as written, mixing everything but the powdered sugar all at once...DON'T DO THIS! The banana puree and lemon juice will NOT cream with the butter properly. Instead, cream the butter on its own, then add the powdered sugar in small batches. Alternate adding sugar and banana puree until it's fluffy and creamy. It has a nice banana flavor and thick texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Made this for chocolate cupcakes for a shower. It was too runny. I ended up using an entire box (5 cups) of powdered sugar to try to thicken this up. I stopped there as if I added more powdered sugar, it would've been too sweet and I wouldn't have been able to taste the banana. When I frosted my cupcakes, the icing just oozed down the sides. It was messy and gross. Alright flavor, but I will definitely not make it if I were to impress people with the looks of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampyra1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
great with the banana cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrofloridagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This frosting made my Banana Oatmeal cookies out of this world. When I made the cookies (also from this site, recipe by Yvonne Miller) they seemed a bit on the dry side, but tasty, so I thought icing would perk them up a bit. I'm glad I did, they were fantastic, thanks to this icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rapinka82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This icing was great. The first time I made it, I only had 1 banana which whats less than what the recipe called for. However, it was a great icing because it was very mousse like. It spread nicely and was VERY tastey. I sold the cake at a bazaar and I havent stopped hearing rave reviews about it. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
YUM YUM YUM! On top of Wonderful Banana cake... just delicious! I did use newer bananas as one review suggested helped cut down the tooth-rottingly sweet factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States