Banana Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Excellent!! At first I was extremely frustrated that is was very thin and almost a liquid. I left it in the bowl and let it sit in the fridge over night. The next day I had a PERFECT frosting!!! I make home made frosting all the time so I can say with great confidence that this is a great frosting if you let it sit over night. I doubled the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy Red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
the only thing that I can say about this recipe is blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
too thin and runny...must have done something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Oh so good! I made Banana Spice Cookies (from this website) and used them as banana whoopie pies with this as the filling! I didn't measure exactly how much powdered sugar I used, but I used way more than this recipe calls for. A keeper recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whole_foods_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Here's a foolproof order for adding these ingredients together in order to NOT get a glaze: Mash 1/2 of the greenest NEVER FROZEN banana you have, add 1/2 tsp. lemon juice (or lime juice, but there is no other substitute here, the citric acid is key) and your vanilla into a bowl. Measure out your confectioner's sugar or at least part of it. Cream butter alone (make sure your butter is NOT soft enough to hold an indentation - usually 30 minutes for me). Begin adding in sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, continue creaming it in, add ALL your banana mixture, cream that in, continue adding in sugar in 1/2 cup measures. I wound up adding more lemon juice, myself, to counteract the sugar. I've iced all 18 of AR's "Banana Cupcakes" with this & it's in the fridge -- I may revise this review if it's brown in the morning :=) Thanks for the recipe! (Note: I used 3 drops of yellow food coloring.) UPDATE: As of the following morning, my refrigerated iced cupcakes had NOT turned brown or discolored or wept in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I had never even heard of banana icing before, but decided to do a search for a frosting to put on the chocolate banana muffins that I made. This frosting turned out better that I expected, both in appearance as well as taste. I should have made a double batch - one to frost the muffins, and one to eat with a spoon from the bowl. This frosting is delicious and would go so well on many cakes, muffins, and cupcakes. I will definitely keep this one handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made this recipe exactly and it is wonderful. Great banana flavor. I ran low because I made two batches of cupcakes and had no more bananas, I added some Banana Cream Pie flavored yogurt and more powdered sugar and that tasted great too. Will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Wonderful recipe. Great flavor, not overly sweet or banana-y. Added nutmeg, allspice and cinnamon. Will be saving this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This icing was amazing! I made two batches-- one of just banana and added some yellow colour to make it more fun. I also used green bananas which gave it a nice fresh taste! The second I blended in two fresh strawberries along with the bananas. Strawberry banana icing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Egies

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
made for top of banana cake V. very good, except wait to frosten until cake and icing have cooled. ended up with puddles around the edges and center, but it was a nice consistency the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

A refreshing smoothie, perfect for breakfast or snack-time.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States