Banana Brown Sugar Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were SO good. So, so good. I used buttermilk, used two packets of organic caramel apple instant oatmeal (my batter seemed a little thin, so I folded in another packet), and added a little vanilla and pumpkin pie spice. These cooked up beautifully and I had no issues with pancakes that weren't done in the middle. Both the kids and I loved these and I'll for sure make these again. For those who make these pancakes, don't overmix! And this recipe made nine medium pancakes and between my kids and I, we ate them all! EDITED TO ADD: These have become my kids' favorite pancakes. My son asks me almost every morning if I'm making "those really good pancakes". I can't thank the person who posted this recipe enough. Thank God Walmart has cheap instant oatmeal! EDITED AGAIN: I now make these with whole wheat flour, half the sugar, a teaspoon of baking powder, and buttermilk and organic ingredients if I can. Still one of our favorite pancake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious & great texture! I made the batch and froze the leftovers and they even tasted great in the toaster later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were very very good! I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to make it more fluffy. I used maple and brown sugar oatmeal because that's all we had. Don't really need syrup, but I still ate them with a little bit. Better than the 'just add water' pancake mix I usually buy! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Thank you to all who love my recipe! And you are very welcome. My son loves these and they are so easy to make. I did add a little baking powder to the recipe as a levener. You can use so many different flavors and they are great. ENJOY AND HAPPY COOKING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nscoober2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
They tasted delicious! I didn't have a banana oatmeal package, so I substituted it for a Maple and Brown Sugar, it made the pancakes have an awesome flavor. Like double the brown sugar and maple from the syrup as well! I'm gonna try this same recipe with different flavors of oatmeal too! I fed them to my picky eater nephew and he loved them! My niece even ate them without syrup, and told me "These are the BEST pancakes I've ever had in the entire world!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tavolacci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
delicious, they tasted even better than pancake mix. i added baking powder to make them fluffy and it helped a lot! definitely making them again. you can use any flavor instant oatmeal. meow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made these pancakes today and my boyfriend and I both agreed these are the best pancakes yet. I used a total of 2 cups of regular oatmeal instead of the instant packet. I tried 1 cup but felt it was still too runny. I also added a whole ripe (I mean really ripe, to the point where the banana peel is almost all black) banana. I smashed it in with the dry ingredients and then poured that into the wet ingredients. I used a spatula to mix it all up. Delicious! Btw, I did not use syrup. The sweetness from the banana was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've been making my own version of this for years. I butter the griddle, sprinkle nuts & then add brown sugar & pour the batter on top, then more brown sugar & nuts to the top of the batter. It turns into a melty gooey, delicious pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Here are the changes I made: Used melted butter instead of oil, whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour and instead of banana-flavored oatmeal, I used a thawed out frozen banana (very soft and easy to smash without having to wait for the banana to become overly ripe) and quick oats. I also cut the brown sugar down by more than half and added a little cinnamon. Really delicious. Nutty (from the whole wheat) and sweet (from the banana) but not too sweet (because I cut the sugar). I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I never would've thought to use flavored instant oatmeal in pancakes. Very easy and turned out great. I also added a small very ripe mashed banana, and used a little more flour. Will make these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States