Banana Brown Sugar Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were SO good. So, so good. I used buttermilk, used two packets of organic caramel apple instant oatmeal (my batter seemed a little thin, so I folded in another packet), and added a little vanilla and pumpkin pie spice. These cooked up beautifully and I had no issues with pancakes that weren't done in the middle. Both the kids and I loved these and I'll for sure make these again. For those who make these pancakes, don't overmix! And this recipe made nine medium pancakes and between my kids and I, we ate them all! EDITED TO ADD: These have become my kids' favorite pancakes. My son asks me almost every morning if I'm making "those really good pancakes". I can't thank the person who posted this recipe enough. Thank God Walmart has cheap instant oatmeal! EDITED AGAIN: I now make these with whole wheat flour, half the sugar, a teaspoon of baking powder, and buttermilk and organic ingredients if I can. Still one of our favorite pancake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
delicious, they tasted even better than pancake mix. i added baking powder to make them fluffy and it helped a lot! definitely making them again. you can use any flavor instant oatmeal. meow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a good "base" recipe that can be easily modified to suit individual tastes. I used mixed berry oatmeal instead of banana. My husband and I both enjoyed the pancakes and they had a nice texture and consistency. They also browned very nicely. My comments are: 1) Instead of using a combination of salt and baking soda, I used 1 tsp. of baking powder, which provides a little bit more fluffiness; 2) My other pancake recipe uses 1 Tbsp of white sugar for 8 servings so I scaled the sugar back to 1 tsp since the instant oatmeal obviously contains a lot of sugar. I cannot even imagine how unbearably sweet these would have tasted with a full 1/2 c. of brown sugar on top of all of the sugar in the instant oatmeal. For kids who have a sweeter palate, I would say maybe 1/8 c. of sugar would be okay, but any more than that would be a sugar overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I think this recipe is great for children, but I made some changes to make them for "grownups". 1) I used a "weight control" banana bread oatmeal packet (less sugar, more fiber. etc). 2) I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour. 3) I used 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (delicious!) 4) I substituted applesauce for the oil. After reading the other reviews, I agreed and used 1/2 the amount of brown sugar and baking powder instead of baking soda and salt, AND I let the oatmeal sit in the milk for 10 minutes before mixing everything else. Finally (seems I made a lot of changes...) I added some cinnamon to compliment the banana, around a tsp or so. I used butter flavored Pam cooking spray on the skillet so I could omit buttering them after they were cooked. My boyfriend and me ate them up quick...and my dog really enjoyed the little pancake I made out of the leftover batter! I had no problems with the batter being runny...maybe some of the changes I made fixed that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
very tasty ...but batter very thin , had to add about a 1/2 cup more of flour to thicken, then they came out Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
They tasted delicious! I didn't have a banana oatmeal package, so I substituted it for a Maple and Brown Sugar, it made the pancakes have an awesome flavor. Like double the brown sugar and maple from the syrup as well! I'm gonna try this same recipe with different flavors of oatmeal too! I fed them to my picky eater nephew and he loved them! My niece even ate them without syrup, and told me "These are the BEST pancakes I've ever had in the entire world!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tavolacci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made these pancakes today and my boyfriend and I both agreed these are the best pancakes yet. I used a total of 2 cups of regular oatmeal instead of the instant packet. I tried 1 cup but felt it was still too runny. I also added a whole ripe (I mean really ripe, to the point where the banana peel is almost all black) banana. I smashed it in with the dry ingredients and then poured that into the wet ingredients. I used a spatula to mix it all up. Delicious! Btw, I did not use syrup. The sweetness from the banana was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious & great texture! I made the batch and froze the leftovers and they even tasted great in the toaster later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Really tasty. Used plain oatmeal packet as that is what I had onhand. We enjoyed these, thanks! Since I used plain oatmeal, I did add 1 tsp cinnamon and subbed 1/2 the sugar with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were very very good! I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to make it more fluffy. I used maple and brown sugar oatmeal because that's all we had. Don't really need syrup, but I still ate them with a little bit. Better than the 'just add water' pancake mix I usually buy! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States