Banana Brown Sugar Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
They tasted delicious! I didn't have a banana oatmeal package, so I substituted it for a Maple and Brown Sugar, it made the pancakes have an awesome flavor. Like double the brown sugar and maple from the syrup as well! I'm gonna try this same recipe with different flavors of oatmeal too! I fed them to my picky eater nephew and he loved them! My niece even ate them without syrup, and told me "These are the BEST pancakes I've ever had in the entire world!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tavolacci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe was ok. It was a good starter. I made the exact recipe and it was quite runny, made some pancakes and they were too thin for my liking. So I added about 1/2 cup "just add water" pancake mix to it. That was good, but it still seemed to be missing something. I added one ripe banana. It was then just PERFECT! I will definitely make these again using my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious & great texture! I made the batch and froze the leftovers and they even tasted great in the toaster later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Edible, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a good "base" recipe that can be easily modified to suit individual tastes. I used mixed berry oatmeal instead of banana. My husband and I both enjoyed the pancakes and they had a nice texture and consistency. They also browned very nicely. My comments are: 1) Instead of using a combination of salt and baking soda, I used 1 tsp. of baking powder, which provides a little bit more fluffiness; 2) My other pancake recipe uses 1 Tbsp of white sugar for 8 servings so I scaled the sugar back to 1 tsp since the instant oatmeal obviously contains a lot of sugar. I cannot even imagine how unbearably sweet these would have tasted with a full 1/2 c. of brown sugar on top of all of the sugar in the instant oatmeal. For kids who have a sweeter palate, I would say maybe 1/8 c. of sugar would be okay, but any more than that would be a sugar overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were SO good. So, so good. I used buttermilk, used two packets of organic caramel apple instant oatmeal (my batter seemed a little thin, so I folded in another packet), and added a little vanilla and pumpkin pie spice. These cooked up beautifully and I had no issues with pancakes that weren't done in the middle. Both the kids and I loved these and I'll for sure make these again. For those who make these pancakes, don't overmix! And this recipe made nine medium pancakes and between my kids and I, we ate them all! EDITED TO ADD: These have become my kids' favorite pancakes. My son asks me almost every morning if I'm making "those really good pancakes". I can't thank the person who posted this recipe enough. Thank God Walmart has cheap instant oatmeal! EDITED AGAIN: I now make these with whole wheat flour, half the sugar, a teaspoon of baking powder, and buttermilk and organic ingredients if I can. Still one of our favorite pancake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
delicious, they tasted even better than pancake mix. i added baking powder to make them fluffy and it helped a lot! definitely making them again. you can use any flavor instant oatmeal. meow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Delicious pancakes. Grandkids loved them. I used apple-cinnamon instant oatmeal and added it to the milk, let it soak for about 15 min while I made bacon. Also used 1/2 the sugar (I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 c) and they were still plenty sweet. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
very tasty ...but batter very thin , had to add about a 1/2 cup more of flour to thicken, then they came out Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought these were good but my kids didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States