Banana Brown Sugar Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Here are the changes I made: Used melted butter instead of oil, whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour and instead of banana-flavored oatmeal, I used a thawed out frozen banana (very soft and easy to smash without having to wait for the banana to become overly ripe) and quick oats. I also cut the brown sugar down by more than half and added a little cinnamon. Really delicious. Nutty (from the whole wheat) and sweet (from the banana) but not too sweet (because I cut the sugar). I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've been making my own version of this for years. I butter the griddle, sprinkle nuts & then add brown sugar & pour the batter on top, then more brown sugar & nuts to the top of the batter. It turns into a melty gooey, delicious pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were very very good! I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to make it more fluffy. I used maple and brown sugar oatmeal because that's all we had. Don't really need syrup, but I still ate them with a little bit. Better than the 'just add water' pancake mix I usually buy! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made these pancakes today and my boyfriend and I both agreed these are the best pancakes yet. I used a total of 2 cups of regular oatmeal instead of the instant packet. I tried 1 cup but felt it was still too runny. I also added a whole ripe (I mean really ripe, to the point where the banana peel is almost all black) banana. I smashed it in with the dry ingredients and then poured that into the wet ingredients. I used a spatula to mix it all up. Delicious! Btw, I did not use syrup. The sweetness from the banana was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I think this recipe is great for children, but I made some changes to make them for "grownups". 1) I used a "weight control" banana bread oatmeal packet (less sugar, more fiber. etc). 2) I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour. 3) I used 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (delicious!) 4) I substituted applesauce for the oil. After reading the other reviews, I agreed and used 1/2 the amount of brown sugar and baking powder instead of baking soda and salt, AND I let the oatmeal sit in the milk for 10 minutes before mixing everything else. Finally (seems I made a lot of changes...) I added some cinnamon to compliment the banana, around a tsp or so. I used butter flavored Pam cooking spray on the skillet so I could omit buttering them after they were cooked. My boyfriend and me ate them up quick...and my dog really enjoyed the little pancake I made out of the leftover batter! I had no problems with the batter being runny...maybe some of the changes I made fixed that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought these were good but my kids didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
very tasty ...but batter very thin , had to add about a 1/2 cup more of flour to thicken, then they came out Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Delicious pancakes. Grandkids loved them. I used apple-cinnamon instant oatmeal and added it to the milk, let it soak for about 15 min while I made bacon. Also used 1/2 the sugar (I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 c) and they were still plenty sweet. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
delicious, they tasted even better than pancake mix. i added baking powder to make them fluffy and it helped a lot! definitely making them again. you can use any flavor instant oatmeal. meow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were SO good. So, so good. I used buttermilk, used two packets of organic caramel apple instant oatmeal (my batter seemed a little thin, so I folded in another packet), and added a little vanilla and pumpkin pie spice. These cooked up beautifully and I had no issues with pancakes that weren't done in the middle. Both the kids and I loved these and I'll for sure make these again. For those who make these pancakes, don't overmix! And this recipe made nine medium pancakes and between my kids and I, we ate them all! EDITED TO ADD: These have become my kids' favorite pancakes. My son asks me almost every morning if I'm making "those really good pancakes". I can't thank the person who posted this recipe enough. Thank God Walmart has cheap instant oatmeal! EDITED AGAIN: I now make these with whole wheat flour, half the sugar, a teaspoon of baking powder, and buttermilk and organic ingredients if I can. Still one of our favorite pancake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States