Banana Brown Sugar Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were very very good! I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to make it more fluffy. I used maple and brown sugar oatmeal because that's all we had. Don't really need syrup, but I still ate them with a little bit. Better than the 'just add water' pancake mix I usually buy! Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made these pancakes today and my boyfriend and I both agreed these are the best pancakes yet. I used a total of 2 cups of regular oatmeal instead of the instant packet. I tried 1 cup but felt it was still too runny. I also added a whole ripe (I mean really ripe, to the point where the banana peel is almost all black) banana. I smashed it in with the dry ingredients and then poured that into the wet ingredients. I used a spatula to mix it all up. Delicious! Btw, I did not use syrup. The sweetness from the banana was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I think this recipe is great for children, but I made some changes to make them for "grownups". 1) I used a "weight control" banana bread oatmeal packet (less sugar, more fiber. etc). 2) I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour. 3) I used 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (delicious!) 4) I substituted applesauce for the oil. After reading the other reviews, I agreed and used 1/2 the amount of brown sugar and baking powder instead of baking soda and salt, AND I let the oatmeal sit in the milk for 10 minutes before mixing everything else. Finally (seems I made a lot of changes...) I added some cinnamon to compliment the banana, around a tsp or so. I used butter flavored Pam cooking spray on the skillet so I could omit buttering them after they were cooked. My boyfriend and me ate them up quick...and my dog really enjoyed the little pancake I made out of the leftover batter! I had no problems with the batter being runny...maybe some of the changes I made fixed that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought these were good but my kids didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
very tasty ...but batter very thin , had to add about a 1/2 cup more of flour to thicken, then they came out Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Delicious pancakes. Grandkids loved them. I used apple-cinnamon instant oatmeal and added it to the milk, let it soak for about 15 min while I made bacon. Also used 1/2 the sugar (I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 c) and they were still plenty sweet. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
delicious, they tasted even better than pancake mix. i added baking powder to make them fluffy and it helped a lot! definitely making them again. you can use any flavor instant oatmeal. meow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were SO good. So, so good. I used buttermilk, used two packets of organic caramel apple instant oatmeal (my batter seemed a little thin, so I folded in another packet), and added a little vanilla and pumpkin pie spice. These cooked up beautifully and I had no issues with pancakes that weren't done in the middle. Both the kids and I loved these and I'll for sure make these again. For those who make these pancakes, don't overmix! And this recipe made nine medium pancakes and between my kids and I, we ate them all! EDITED TO ADD: These have become my kids' favorite pancakes. My son asks me almost every morning if I'm making "those really good pancakes". I can't thank the person who posted this recipe enough. Thank God Walmart has cheap instant oatmeal! EDITED AGAIN: I now make these with whole wheat flour, half the sugar, a teaspoon of baking powder, and buttermilk and organic ingredients if I can. Still one of our favorite pancake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a good "base" recipe that can be easily modified to suit individual tastes. I used mixed berry oatmeal instead of banana. My husband and I both enjoyed the pancakes and they had a nice texture and consistency. They also browned very nicely. My comments are: 1) Instead of using a combination of salt and baking soda, I used 1 tsp. of baking powder, which provides a little bit more fluffiness; 2) My other pancake recipe uses 1 Tbsp of white sugar for 8 servings so I scaled the sugar back to 1 tsp since the instant oatmeal obviously contains a lot of sugar. I cannot even imagine how unbearably sweet these would have tasted with a full 1/2 c. of brown sugar on top of all of the sugar in the instant oatmeal. For kids who have a sweeter palate, I would say maybe 1/8 c. of sugar would be okay, but any more than that would be a sugar overload.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Edible, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States