Banana Bread with Oat-Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious, moist banana bread! I baked mine in one 9x5 glass loaf pan, so if you're like me and only want one bread here's what I did. I cut the topping in half. For the batter, I used 1/2 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. brown sugar, kept the same amount of butter, eggs, banana and vanilla. I used 1/4 c. of buttermilk, 2 c. of flour, 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp. of baking powder, added 1 tsp. of baking soda, 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon & 1/2 c. of walnuts. The bread was done baking in a little over an hour and the topping was nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Best banana bread ever!!!! It melted in your mouth, plus the topping made it fantastic!!! I never put topping on my banana bread before... now, I will always make it this way!!! Gave away loaves for a special Easter treat....it was received positively by all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was the best banana bread ever!!! I did use equal portions of white and brown sugar-because I like my crust more chewy. I use a convection oven and only cooked it 1:05, but could have cooked it even less. My picky kids even love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Very good banana bread. Great streusel. I LOVED that it made so much streusel, for I refrigerated the remaining and will be using it on future muffins & breads..will save a lot of time when I make any other breakfast bread/muffin recipe, & it stays fresh in the frig for a very long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I thought it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was really great! Whenever I have made bananna bread in the past it has always come out really heavy and to moist. This was a perfect recipe. I did use up some whole wheat flour that I had on hand and the rest white flour. I also used 3 smaller loaf pans so they cooked in less time. Great recipe thanks sooo much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made no changes to this recipe. I had some cinnamon roll instant oatmeal that I needed to use up, so this recipe was perfect. I just cut back a little on the pumpkin pie spice. The streusel topping was way too much, I ended up throwing almost half of it away. If I make this again, I will add a middle layer of streusel. Smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Just came out of the oven......smells awesome.......have to keep the kids/husband out of them so they can at least cool - unlike the blueberry lemon loaf. Ok, I snuck a piece.......awesome! As good as it smells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Good but the topping is so crumbly. I think next time I will try melting the butter. I just think it would stick together better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States