Banana Bread with Oat-Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was the best banana bread ever!!! I did use equal portions of white and brown sugar-because I like my crust more chewy. I use a convection oven and only cooked it 1:05, but could have cooked it even less. My picky kids even love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Best banana bread ever!!!! It melted in your mouth, plus the topping made it fantastic!!! I never put topping on my banana bread before... now, I will always make it this way!!! Gave away loaves for a special Easter treat....it was received positively by all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious, moist banana bread! I baked mine in one 9x5 glass loaf pan, so if you're like me and only want one bread here's what I did. I cut the topping in half. For the batter, I used 1/2 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. brown sugar, kept the same amount of butter, eggs, banana and vanilla. I used 1/4 c. of buttermilk, 2 c. of flour, 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp. of baking powder, added 1 tsp. of baking soda, 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon & 1/2 c. of walnuts. The bread was done baking in a little over an hour and the topping was nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Try adding 8oz of canned tuna, drained of course, what a fancy way to impress your family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very dry. Didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I thought it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made no changes to this recipe. I had some cinnamon roll instant oatmeal that I needed to use up, so this recipe was perfect. I just cut back a little on the pumpkin pie spice. The streusel topping was way too much, I ended up throwing almost half of it away. If I make this again, I will add a middle layer of streusel. Smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Very good banana bread. Great streusel. I LOVED that it made so much streusel, for I refrigerated the remaining and will be using it on future muffins & breads..will save a lot of time when I make any other breakfast bread/muffin recipe, & it stays fresh in the frig for a very long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Moist, sweet, very much like a banana muffin. Changes: Sugared rather than floured pans 1 tsp salt in batter White whole wheat flour in place of white 4 bananas (because of using whole wheat flour) Baked 52 minutes using heavyweight anodized aluminum bread pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Good but the topping is so crumbly. I think next time I will try melting the butter. I just think it would stick together better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States