Banana Bread VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Wonderful! I actually decided on this recipe since it called for baking powder instead of soda (which I didn't have) I halved the recipe since I cook for one and I definitely don't need a whole loaf lying around =) I did add about 2 T of melted butter to the batter as another reviewer suggested to make it a little more moist and just a dash more baking powder. It just came out a few minutes ago and it's very very yummy, just the right texture, not too heavy or dense! Will definitely make again. (Oh and sidenote....I noticed a Lot of complaints that this bread is too "dense and gummy" I'm wondering if everyone is remembering to use Very Over Ripe bananas? They should be completely brown and practically liquid themselves! If you use bananas that are not ripe enough it won't be a substitute for the liquid (i.e. milk, water) that most recipes have and the bread won't turn out right)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
I was surprised at how delicious this bread is. I made two types of bread - one claimed to be low fat, but had butter in it. This one doesn't have any butter and was better than the other one! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
This bread is good when it first comes out of the oven. After that it is much too heavy and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
There isn't an option for anything below a one star. I tried two other recipes that same day, and they were great! This recipe was far too dense, dry and a waste of good bananas & nuts. It never did cook all the way either. Banana Bread I, was such a good recipe, try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
This is good, dense, very bread like. Travels well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
A great way to use ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
this is one of the best banan breads i ever made. or even had from someone else. good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
Although this bread is hearty and delicious, I did find it somewhat dry. I will make it again because it did receive great feedback from friends/family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I liked this recipe but I did tweak it. I added 3 tsp vanilla, 2 Tbs melted butter and a small dollop of sour cream and did half white half brown sugar.Came out rich, sweet and amazing. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Once it was made it seemed too thick, otherwise the recipe was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States