Easy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wonderful!!! I took the advise of other reviews and did 1cup white sugar and 1cup Brown sugar. I also used an electric mixer. The batter was so creamy, I ate alot of it raw(yummmm). I did have to cook it for an extra 15 minutes to get it done. I also toasted my pecans in a pan with butter flavored Pam before I put them in the batter. I sprayed both pans with Butter flavored Pam then sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar(mixed) in the bottom of each pan added the batter then sprinkled the top of each with the cinnamon sugar mixture. Both came out of the pan clean and the top was sooooo good. I got this idea from another review as well. I looked at every recipe on this site before I decided on this one. I only found two reviews that were negative for this recipe and I have decided the cook must have done something wrong or their oven was not working properly. I am very pleased and will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I have a reputation at work as being our best baker, but I didn't have a banana bread recipe I was confident to share...until now! I made this for the first time tonight with a few substitutions: half shortening/half applesauce; removed 1 c. of the sugar; added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. It turned out perfectly moist and delicious. NOW I have to decide IF I'm even going to take one of the loaves to work! Thanks, Teri Lynn for a classic recipe to add to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This is THE BEST banana bread! I recently made it with SPLENDA sugar substitute and added 1 tsp extra baking soda and 2 tbl molasses. It turned out much lighter (in weight of course) and was more cake-like in texture. I was also pleasantly surprised with the taste. Good for us diabetics. Thanks for this versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
My husband is very picky when it comes to banana bread. I have tried about 5 different recipes now to find the one "like his mom used to make." My search is finally over. We both love this banana bread. It is moist and just fanatastic. I made one loaf with chopped pecans (I didn't have any walnuts on hand) and the other loaf plain. I am not sure which loaf we liked best. I always dread getting the end pieces too, but the entire loaf was wonderful. Absolutely perfect!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I used this recipe for muffins - bake 23 minutes. To quote my husband, "These are the best muffins I've ever had." I halved the recipe, used 3 bananas, which yielded almost 2 dozen muffins. I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips to half the batch for the choco-holics in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This recipe is awesome, very cheap too. I made 40 loaves for Christmas gifts wrapped them in nice kitchen towels with color matching lace, all that for less than a dollar per gift. Wonderful, moist and flavorful. I added chocolate chips and left tiny pieces of banana "unmashed" for a different touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
If I could give this recipe six stars I would!! Very moist and tasty. I did cut back on sugar by a half cup. My old recipe was dry, This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I found this recipe very tasty. My husband completely LOVED it & was annoyed when I tried a different recipe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 37cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Well, with all the high ratings, you know this is a keeper. The bread was so rich and moist! I didn't have 5 ripe bananas-only 4. I also didn't add nuts. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Easy, good recipe. Very good banana flavor. The best banana bread recipe I have found so far. It makes a double batch so you can either cut it in half or freeze one loaf, it freezes very well. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States