Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Wonderful! Possibly the best banana bread I've ever had. Like others, I added 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. baking powder, 1 t. vanilla extract, split the sugar in to 1/2 c. of white and brown sugar, and I used 1 c. of all purpose flour with 1/2 c. whole wheat flour. I also cut the butter in half and substituted with applesauce. Sometimes making these healthier cuts into your baking also means you have to cut out on the taste, but this proportion worked perfectly! A little bit healthier and it was gone before it was finished cooling on the cooling rack! I guess I better make some more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this bread today, for the second time. Because I love anything banana flavored, I decided to put in 5 mashed bananas this time and added 1t vanilla, and 1t cinnamon.Because of the dry to wet ratio I added another 1/2c flour and 1t baking powder. A flavorful, moist banana bread was the result! With my modifications, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks, Nikki! :) By the way, for two 7X3 loaves, it took only 45 minutes in my oven. I believe 1 hour would dry the bread out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This banana bread is so good! The edges are crispy and the inside is nice and moist. I covered it with foil halfway through because it was getting pretty brown and added 1/2 tsp baking powder, vanilla and cinnamon. Definitely my new banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I made this recipe, but added a little cinnamon and a dash of vanilla. Put them in vegetable sprayed muffin pans and they took half the time. This recipe is so quick and easy! I double the recipe to make 24 muffins. A definite family favorite! Thank you Nikki! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Good recipe! The first time I made it I thought it could use more bananas although the bananas I got from the grocery store were rather small, therefore, the second time I made it I used four bananas instead of three. The first time I made this recipe it was good but the second time it was great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Here is a simple recipe that tastes great. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, used margarine instead of butter and made half a dozen muffins and one small round cake pan instead of the two loaves. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I added cinnamon, walnuts and some vanilla. Everyone raved over the flavor. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Made these tonight, I love banana bread and thought this one was wonderful. I took the hints and added vanilla and cinnamon and also added chocolate chips. I made muffins out of the batter. It was so simple. Even my husband loved them. I did not think he even liked bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Super moist banana bread -- what a find! I added cinnamon and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This had a very strong taste to it and had a chewy crust. It was too heavy and not what I was looking for. I prefer a lighter, more cake-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States