Banana Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Halved the recipe, used the one large, overripe banana I had and butter instead of shortening. The first thing my almost 4 year old son said when he tasted one was- "These are muffins!" They are the exact texture of a muffin, so don't expect a typical cookie. They are tasty though! Great with my morning coffee. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These were very good. i added a pinch of cinnamon and a drop of dark rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I added 3 bananas and it still wasn't enough for me. But they are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
The first words out of my husband's mouth when he tasted these were expletives... THE GOOD KIND! These are delicious, but definitely add the second banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Spangler McKendry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manchester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This recipe was really good. Very simple and for an added treat I added 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of walnuts. Will Definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The taste is wonderful, just like banana bread. I used two bananas, half white and brown sugar, and half butter and shortening. I made them too big and they spread out a lot in the oven, so I will make them smaller next time. It took about 13 minutes to bake. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrandmaK
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I give these cookies a 5 star rating using some of the suggestions from previous reviews. I used 2 bananas, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and added 1 cup oatmeal. They turned out great! If you like a soft cookie, you'll really like these. I frosted half of them with a regular butter and powdered sugar frosting and the other half dusted with powder sugar. I think I like them with just the powder sugar the best, not so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I just made these cookies.I think these cookies taste good.I followed others by doing 1/2 regular sugar and 1/2 brown sugar.I added another banana for better flavoring and I also added 1 cup of oatmeal.very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2
Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Everyone LOVED these (ok...not my husband - but he hates banana) My kids ask for these all the time. In fact, I have had to substitute several times because they are begging for them and I don't have all the ingredients. I have had to use baking powder instead of baking soda - worked out ok-more cake-like. We have added more bananas (because each kid wanted to add one) and I have had to use all butter, 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening and one time I didn't have butter-flavored shortening or butter, so I used regular shortening and butter extract. They are eaten up before I have had a chance to put any icing or powdered sugar on them. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These cookies were terrific with some major tweaking so I can only give them a 4, but after adjustment they are a 6! I followed the suggestion of adding an extra banana and using the banana butter icing from this site, but the dough was way too thin for cookies so I added 1 c. of quick oats as well. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar just because I like cookies with brown sugar. The end result was phenomenal. I actually only iced half of them because my family liked them plain as well. They taste like muffin tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States