Banana Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Ohmigoodness, these are so good! I'm a college student and all my room-mates just love them. They're great frosted with peanut butter instead of the sugar frosting in the recipe. They're light and puffy, just like banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEL011683

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danvers, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
These are SO easy and SO incredibly good--the only thing I can think of that would make them better is to add some mini-chocolate chips to the batter(making another batch tomorrow to test that theory LOL!). I did not use the icing -- they were perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
An easy crowd-pleaser! The frosting was a little clumpy and didn't look very nice. However, the cookies are delicious without the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Very Good! After reading reviews I made changes including using 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup shortening, two bananas, and half brown and half white sugar. I also added 1 tsp baking powder in addition to the baking soda and used 1 cup of wheat flour and 1 3/4 cup white flour. They were cakey and not at all flat. For the icing I used almond flavoring because I used up all the almond in the dough and it came out great. A nice change of pace and a new addition to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This is a very good and very easy cookie. Keeping in mind the other reviews, I used very ripe 2 bananas - the skins on mine were very brown - so the flavor was full and sweet. I compensated for the extra moisture in the banana by adding 1/2 cup more flour. I also added 1/2t each nutmeg and cinnamon. I also used 1/2C butter and 1/2C shortening instead of the butter flavored shortening. I kept the batter, which is more like quick bread batter than cookie dough, chilled and then baked in a 350F oven... the cookies did not spread. I used parchment paper so I did not grease the sheets, which can contribute to the brown edges, but I suspect these cookies are sensitive to slow oven temp. Be sure to preheat your oven well and check that your oven's internal temp. is actually 350F. The frosting/glaze can vary in texture - thicker can be lightly spread on top, thinner can be drizzled; add the milk slowly, adjusting the amount used to get the consistency you are looking for. Frost/Glaze the cookies after they are cooled so the icing makes a pretty top on the cookie and does not soak into it. I sprinked ground pecans over the icing before it hardened for a fancier look. Thanks for a great recipe Molly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
We LOVED these! My husband says they are the very cookies he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Oooohhh....sooo good and yet SOOO easy!!! my one complaint: it ran so much when baking, so it was like...a flat circle with a big brown outline cause the outside got burnt, but not the inside...yummy..just not so attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Excellent cookie recipe!! The kids really loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
As the other reviews noted, use 2 bananas and add some nutmet and cinnamon and this will come out great! It's great for breakfast as well as for snack. It's probably best to try and make 2 dozen or a bit over that to make the right size and fluffiness. Anything less will make them flat. I would definitely make these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
These are addictive! 1-they are so easy to make and 2-they are so tasty! I've made them numerous times, my favorite is to use cream cheese frosting and sandwich the cookies together with the frosting in the middle. I had trouble with the frosting recipe included here seperating, but they are equally as good with no frosting at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIC-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States