Banana Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. Not too sweet, moist, fluffy and tasty. I halved this recipe, along with using margarine, and half whole wheat flour. I also added more banana. So good!! Oh- Also added pecans and walnuts!! But make alot, they disappear quickly. Another thing- No need for icing, just dust with powdered sugar, it will be all the sweetness you need. ****Edit:The only bad thing about these, is the tops get moist and soggy. Dont stack them on top of each other, they get very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Wow! These cookies are so delicious!!! When I started to mix these cookies up, I didn't have any Butter Crisco so I used margarine. They turned out great! I used two bananas instead of one and used more powdered sugar than the recipe said for the icing. I will definately make these yummy cookies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
YUM! Taste just like banana bread. I used half whole wheat flour, butter instead of shortening, 2 bananas, and added a few sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg. Very good! Cover these or store in a ziplock so they stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I should have added more bananas. It was not very sweet and cake like, which was very strange in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
These cookies really do taste just like banana bread! I had limited success with the icing, but that's probably because I don't have an electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
These cookies are excellent!! I thought I'd make the cookies even better by using cream instead of milk in the icing, that was a mistake. I couldn't get the right consistency. I drizzled the frosting over the top and it melted into the cookie, making the cookie seem dough-y. It was still delicious and we ate them all, but next time I'll use a more traditional frosting, or go without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
YUM-MEE! Like other reviewers I added 1/4 C extra flour, 1/2t. baking powder, and a bunch of chocolate chips. Dee-lish. So fluffy and cakelike. The recipe makes about 36 cookies, but if you eat them quickly enough before your husband gets home, you can say it just makes 24!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This recipe was a nice change from banana bread or muffins. I doubled it and made a few changes: I used 3 bananas total [but it would have been better with 4], I used brown sugar instead of white, and for fats I used 1 cup butter-flavored Crisco, 1/2 cup butter, and 1/4 cup Lighter Bake. I also increased the flour slightly, and added cinnamon, nutmeg, and about 1 cup chocolate chips. Before baking I chilled the dough for a few hours, and I baked the cookies on parchment paper. My cookies puffed beautifully, and I had no problems with spreading or unmanageable dough. Next time, I'll decrease the Crisco and increase the Lighter Bake [the cookies were a little too greasy for my taste] and I'll use less flour to make them more moist after cooling off. The dough DOES look too batter-y at first, but after chilling it was fine. The texture turned out similar to muffin tops, and the icing added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Wow! What can I say but these cookies are so different than regular cookies are are absolutely DELICIOUS. I served then to friends and they were thrilled. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Ohmigoodness, these are so good! I'm a college student and all my room-mates just love them. They're great frosted with peanut butter instead of the sugar frosting in the recipe. They're light and puffy, just like banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEL011683

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danvers, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States