Banana Bread Bars with Brown Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Hubs never came across a banana bar he didn't like, including this one. This is a classic banana bar recipe, but its distinction is with the browned butter frosting which I thought was a nice complement. Great taste, lovely frosting, but I prefer mixing up the batter using the traditional creaming method - cream the sugar and butter well, add the eggs and vanilla, and finally the bananas. Add the flour mixture alternately in thirds with the sour cream beginning and ending with the flour. A second helping for Hubs after supper? I'd call these a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These deserve more than five stars. I cut the recipe in half and baked them in an 11x7 glass baking dish for the same time given. Otherwise, I made no changes. I like that these are actually "bars" that you can cut and eat out of hand, unlike other "banana bar" recipes here that are more like cake and require a fork and plate. The frosting is incredible...don't leave it out!! I cooked the butter for exactly 3 minutes on medium heat and it was perfectly browned. Our new official banana dessert here. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am the submitter of this recipe. I think the personal recipe version has better instructions. Here's a link to it: http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63791412/banana-bread-bars-with-brown-butter-frosting/detail.aspx BTW, his recipe is great without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I used an 18 x 13 jelly roll pan and had no problems with batter spilling over the sides. I reduced the bake time to accommodate the pan size. My bananas were completely black which gave theses bars a very good banana flavor with just the right sweetness. We like nuts so I doubled the amount called for in the batter and also chopped some to top the frosting. These bars are very moist and delicious. I will definitely make these again. Thanks, Allie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, with rave reviews! Of course, anything with browned butter frosting on it is ok in my book. :-) I used black walnuts from the tree in our yard (so yummy) and parchment paper in the pan to easily lift bars out to cool, before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is super yummy! But don't do what I did; use real butter in the frosting! I used margarine and it was meh, but butter would have rocked it hardcore (wished I had used butter) otherwise made exactly as stated. The bars were so moist and delicious, 5 star good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
These bars are really, really good. I followed the recipe with the exception of using a 8x11 glass dish. They took about 45 minutes to cook . They are so moist and full of flavour and I know that I will be making these again and again. Thanks AllieGeekPi for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
SO GOOD! This recipe is definitely an addition to my print out recipe book as I know I will make it again and again. Hubby must have told me at least 3 times "This is sooo good! Save this one"! I followed the recipe with the exception of skipping the walnuts as Hubby can't have them. I added them to the top for me. I loved the addition of brown butter frosting. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AllieGeekPi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I helped my kids make these for their Super Bowl party. While they were moist and delicious, I thought they were a little too sweet once the frosting was added. Next time, I would use a smaller pan, so the bars would be thicker, and then halve the frosting. They'd be good with just a dusting of powdered sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Super delicious! I added mini chocolate chips. A nice change from banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States