Banana Bran Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
YUM! I didn't bake this quite the full amount because it was browning quickly, and it was plenty done. I probably baked it 40 minutes. I also (hanging head in shame) used white flour because I was out of wheat. But it was a wonderful texture and I'm sure will be marvelous next time when I use wheat flour. I also used wheat germ instead of wheat bran. I'm sure this will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Wow! I'm always looking for nutritious, low fat, low sugar recipes for breakfast and snacks, and this is one of the best! I made the following changes, only out of necessity, because I think this recipe is perfect by itself: --added an extra banana (it was going to spoil soon) --decreased syrup to 3/4 cup (used sugar free syrup, because it's all I had) --decreased sugar to 1/4 cup --didn't have nutmeg, allspice or cloves, so I just added extra ginger and cinnamon. I poured the batter into a 6-muffin pan and a square baking pan, and baked the muffins for 20 minutes, and the square pan for 30 minutes. Silicon baking pans are great for this--don't have to grease anything, and they come out so easily! ---Update---I made these again the same way, except I added the cloves and nutmeg this time and tried decreasing the syrup to 1/2 cup, and discovered that I prefer using only ginger and cinnamon, and that 3/4 cup syrup is needed to make it sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very Moist and great taste with no added fat (i.e.butter/oil) - wow ! I just had to rate this recipe after trying it so that everyone else would try it too ! I made 48 mini muffins out of this recipe (cooking time 13 min) and they turned out wonderfully. Modifications were: I put in two whole eggs instead of separating, used normal organic whole wheat flour, cut out the allspice, used only 1/2 cup maple syrup (the real stuff). I froze them and put them in lunches for my little girl and husband - they both love them - and I do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This bread is absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and found the results to be terrific. A healthier version of the classic zucchini bread, but fantastic in it's own right. A very nice combination of spices...even my picky boyfriend thought that it was great :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Fantastic whole grain bread. My husband, who I had to force to even try this bread once he saw the "green stuff!" wouldn't stop eating it! He cleaned the whole kitchen and even mopped the floor so that I would make more! HAHA! Thank you for the recipe. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were moist and very flavorful. I used All-Bran, wheat germ, and flax meal. I had to add a little bit milk b/c that made it a bit thick. I put some chopped nuts on top. This was a perfect recipe to help me use up a lot of my zucchini and that banana that has been on the counter for a while. Great for breakfast or a healthy snack. These are really good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious recipe! I used sugar free syrup instead of regular. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The final product is very moist, yummy, and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is amazing. My house smells so good. My kids even ate it and they hate anything whole wheat. I felt like I was indulging and scarfed 2 pieces down. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour, so I used regular whole wheat. I didn't have enough maple syrup so I used 1/4 cup maple and 3/4 honey. I also added 1 cup of pecans to the batter. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Delicious! I made a few substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but it seems to be a robust recipe that can take a fair amount of fiddling and still turn out well. Oh, and taking the suggestions of others here, I did cut down on both the sugar and maple syrup by quite a bit. Maple syrup is expensive and half the amount called for works just fine if you add in a little more liquid elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was delicious. I used old fashioned oat meal and processed it to a fine powder instead of the bran and cut the syrup down more than 1/2 and added more pumpkin. I added chopped pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States