Banana Bran Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
YUM! I didn't bake this quite the full amount because it was browning quickly, and it was plenty done. I probably baked it 40 minutes. I also (hanging head in shame) used white flour because I was out of wheat. But it was a wonderful texture and I'm sure will be marvelous next time when I use wheat flour. I also used wheat germ instead of wheat bran. I'm sure this will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Delicious! I made a few substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but it seems to be a robust recipe that can take a fair amount of fiddling and still turn out well. Oh, and taking the suggestions of others here, I did cut down on both the sugar and maple syrup by quite a bit. Maple syrup is expensive and half the amount called for works just fine if you add in a little more liquid elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was delicious. I used old fashioned oat meal and processed it to a fine powder instead of the bran and cut the syrup down more than 1/2 and added more pumpkin. I added chopped pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is amazing. My house smells so good. My kids even ate it and they hate anything whole wheat. I felt like I was indulging and scarfed 2 pieces down. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour, so I used regular whole wheat. I didn't have enough maple syrup so I used 1/4 cup maple and 3/4 honey. I also added 1 cup of pecans to the batter. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very Moist and great taste with no added fat (i.e.butter/oil) - wow ! I just had to rate this recipe after trying it so that everyone else would try it too ! I made 48 mini muffins out of this recipe (cooking time 13 min) and they turned out wonderfully. Modifications were: I put in two whole eggs instead of separating, used normal organic whole wheat flour, cut out the allspice, used only 1/2 cup maple syrup (the real stuff). I froze them and put them in lunches for my little girl and husband - they both love them - and I do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Wow! I'm always looking for nutritious, low fat, low sugar recipes for breakfast and snacks, and this is one of the best! I made the following changes, only out of necessity, because I think this recipe is perfect by itself: --added an extra banana (it was going to spoil soon) --decreased syrup to 3/4 cup (used sugar free syrup, because it's all I had) --decreased sugar to 1/4 cup --didn't have nutmeg, allspice or cloves, so I just added extra ginger and cinnamon. I poured the batter into a 6-muffin pan and a square baking pan, and baked the muffins for 20 minutes, and the square pan for 30 minutes. Silicon baking pans are great for this--don't have to grease anything, and they come out so easily! ---Update---I made these again the same way, except I added the cloves and nutmeg this time and tried decreasing the syrup to 1/2 cup, and discovered that I prefer using only ginger and cinnamon, and that 3/4 cup syrup is needed to make it sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This bread is absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and found the results to be terrific. A healthier version of the classic zucchini bread, but fantastic in it's own right. A very nice combination of spices...even my picky boyfriend thought that it was great :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious recipe! I used sugar free syrup instead of regular. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The final product is very moist, yummy, and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Fantastic whole grain bread. My husband, who I had to force to even try this bread once he saw the "green stuff!" wouldn't stop eating it! He cleaned the whole kitchen and even mopped the floor so that I would make more! HAHA! Thank you for the recipe. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were moist and very flavorful. I used All-Bran, wheat germ, and flax meal. I had to add a little bit milk b/c that made it a bit thick. I put some chopped nuts on top. This was a perfect recipe to help me use up a lot of my zucchini and that banana that has been on the counter for a while. Great for breakfast or a healthy snack. These are really good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States