Banana Bran Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very Moist and great taste with no added fat (i.e.butter/oil) - wow ! I just had to rate this recipe after trying it so that everyone else would try it too ! I made 48 mini muffins out of this recipe (cooking time 13 min) and they turned out wonderfully. Modifications were: I put in two whole eggs instead of separating, used normal organic whole wheat flour, cut out the allspice, used only 1/2 cup maple syrup (the real stuff). I froze them and put them in lunches for my little girl and husband - they both love them - and I do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Wow! I'm always looking for nutritious, low fat, low sugar recipes for breakfast and snacks, and this is one of the best! I made the following changes, only out of necessity, because I think this recipe is perfect by itself: --added an extra banana (it was going to spoil soon) --decreased syrup to 3/4 cup (used sugar free syrup, because it's all I had) --decreased sugar to 1/4 cup --didn't have nutmeg, allspice or cloves, so I just added extra ginger and cinnamon. I poured the batter into a 6-muffin pan and a square baking pan, and baked the muffins for 20 minutes, and the square pan for 30 minutes. Silicon baking pans are great for this--don't have to grease anything, and they come out so easily! ---Update---I made these again the same way, except I added the cloves and nutmeg this time and tried decreasing the syrup to 1/2 cup, and discovered that I prefer using only ginger and cinnamon, and that 3/4 cup syrup is needed to make it sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This bread is absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, and found the results to be terrific. A healthier version of the classic zucchini bread, but fantastic in it's own right. A very nice combination of spices...even my picky boyfriend thought that it was great :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was delicious. I used old fashioned oat meal and processed it to a fine powder instead of the bran and cut the syrup down more than 1/2 and added more pumpkin. I added chopped pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious recipe! I used sugar free syrup instead of regular. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The final product is very moist, yummy, and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very nice recipe. Made some substitutions just based on what I had on hand - squash instead of pumpkin, 2 whole eggs instead of 1 whole and 2 whites, 1/4 cup maple sugar (ran out) and 1/4 cup honey instead of 1 cup maple syrup, 1/3 brown sugar instead of raw, didn't measure the zucchini - just used two I had on hand, regular whole wheat flour. Could be slightly sweeter than I made it but was still nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Delicious! I made a few substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but it seems to be a robust recipe that can take a fair amount of fiddling and still turn out well. Oh, and taking the suggestions of others here, I did cut down on both the sugar and maple syrup by quite a bit. Maple syrup is expensive and half the amount called for works just fine if you add in a little more liquid elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were moist and very flavorful. I used All-Bran, wheat germ, and flax meal. I had to add a little bit milk b/c that made it a bit thick. I put some chopped nuts on top. This was a perfect recipe to help me use up a lot of my zucchini and that banana that has been on the counter for a while. Great for breakfast or a healthy snack. These are really good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used 2 bananas instead of the pumpkin as I only had a large can and didn't want to waste the rest. I also used 1/2 cup lite syrup and 1/8 cup sugar and an 1/8 cup splenda (I don't taste the splenda if I use this little bit). I also used quick oats instead of bran simply because I had them. I didn't process them as someone else did but would next time. I also added 1/4 cup water. All in all, they are OK. I cooked for 30 minutes and it was too long. Not bad, but they taste healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This recipe is amazing. My house smells so good. My kids even ate it and they hate anything whole wheat. I felt like I was indulging and scarfed 2 pieces down. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour, so I used regular whole wheat. I didn't have enough maple syrup so I used 1/4 cup maple and 3/4 honey. I also added 1 cup of pecans to the batter. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States