Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Replaced butter & brown sugar with 1/2 c honey 1/2 c applesause. 1 c whole wheat flour,1/2 c white flour(sifted) & 1/2 c. oatmeal for flours & wheat bran. 2 c Raisin bran CRUNCH Ceral(crushed a little) 1c walnuts My husband has fybromyalgia. We have learned that a LOT of ingrediants have much effect on pain. We are learning how to convert & make healty substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Delicious muffins! Only alterations I made were to substitute 1/2 cup olive oil for butter and no walnuts! Came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Delicious Muffins. I added frozen cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Good recipe. Like other reviewers, I wanted a lower fat version so I substituted 1/2 cup canned pumpkin for butter. After making rest of recipe as written, batter seemed a bit dry so I added a tablespoon or 2 of milk. Results were good although muffins could use a bit more salt. Maybe that's because of the pumpkin? Anyway, thanks for the recipe, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacamper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Super simple and quick to throw together. I used 3 very large bananas and substituted apple juice for the milk as my son is allergic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Delicious! I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of butter, whole wheat flour, and oat bran (because I had oat bran on hand). The recipe made 16 muffins. I sprinkled the tops with cinnamon and sugar before baking. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made changes based on what I like and had at home. Also, let the bran soak for a bit with the buttermilk before adding it to the mix. They are very yummy and moist. ¼ cup canola oil -- ¼ cup apple sauce -- 1/2 cup brown sugar -- 4 bananas, mashed -- 1/2 cup buttermilk -- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract -- 2 eggs -- 2 tablespoons flax seed -- 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour -- 1/2 cup wheat bran -- 1 teaspoon baking powder -- 1 teaspoon baking soda -- 1/4 teaspoon salt -- ¼ cup raisins -- 1 apple, diced
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I really liked these muffins. I halved the sugar and used applesauce in place of butter. I would probably use the full amount of sugar next time. I also used only 1 egg and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. Next time, I will use half and half. I didn't have any wheat bran, so I used 1 cup of crushed PC Fibre First cereal and it turned out great. This is the first time I've tried to 'healthify' a recipe...and I think it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These are great! I love banana muffins, and having some bran in them makes it "feel" healthier. I add chocolate chips... because what's a banana muffin without chocolate chips? =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Love these muffins! Even my very picky 2 year old loves them. I used applesauce instead of the oil and they turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States