Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Grrreat muffins! I made a few substitutions to make it healthier. I used 50/50 whole wheat/all purpose flour, omitted butter & used 1/2 cup of applesauce, 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend (do not pack sugar) & used 1/8 cup sour cream + 1/8 cup rice milk instead of milk. Oh, I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon & 1/4 cup raisins! The only thing my husband & I both didn't like was that half of the muffins stuck to the muffin papers. I guess this is due to the absence of butter. Next time, I'll skip the muffin papers & pour the batter straight into my muffin pans sprayed w/ a non-stick spray. Also, these muffins do not rise very much, so feel free to fill your pans at least almost to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great muffins which happen to be healthy! I substituted Stevia for the white sugar, applesauce for the oil, egg whites for the eggs and on the white flour split it between whole wheat and white. Once baked, I brushed on warm honey. Big hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Really tasty muffins! Reduced butter to 1/4 Cup and increased bran to 1 Cup. I love healthy tasty treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarsnz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I thought these were very good. I substituted ground flaxseed meal for the wheat bran and toasted the walnuts. They were definitely done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I used low sugar molasses in place of the milk. Also added about 3/4 cup raisans. Excellent moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
tasty, healthy basic banana muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaatopp
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I used another reviewer's modified, healthier version of this recipe and it was great! I did almost exactly what she said except I used 2 eggs instead of one (used egg beaters 1/4 cup = 1 lg egg) and I used ALL whole wheat flour. I also had to buy All-Bran cereal as I could not find Wheat Bran, I smashed the Wheat Bran flakes up and it worked perfectly. I also added Walnuts as the original recipe said. The muffins turned out great, they are moist and lightly sweet but have that light salt taste of a good bran muffin with a little crunch from the walnuts. Definitely not dry. Probably would not be dry if you only used 1 egg. I used 3 bananas and a 1/4 cup brown sugar. The muffins are definitely most and delicious. Great healthy quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaatopp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Does NOT fit my typical rules for cooking (or lack of) it can NOT have more than 5 ingredients and can NOT take longer than 45 min to make. I absolutely have no talent, BUT THESE ARE SUPER EASY AND SUPER DELISH!! My husband loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Replaced butter & brown sugar with 1/2 c honey 1/2 c applesause. 1 c whole wheat flour,1/2 c white flour(sifted) & 1/2 c. oatmeal for flours & wheat bran. 2 c Raisin bran CRUNCH Ceral(crushed a little) 1c walnuts My husband has fybromyalgia. We have learned that a LOT of ingrediants have much effect on pain. We are learning how to convert & make healty substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Delicious muffins! Only alterations I made were to substitute 1/2 cup olive oil for butter and no walnuts! Came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States