Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I was gifted a ginomous amount of raisin bran that I was kind of scratching my head about how we were going to use it as we're not huge cereal eaters. (I know it's not wheat bran but with us being on such a tight budget, I have to use what I got.) Thanks for the ingredient search I was able to use a small amount in this recipe. I cut the butter back by half and added in a quarter cup of homemade organic applesauce. I used buttermilk, whole wheat white flour and omitted the nuts only because we didn't have any. I did add in a heaping half cup of organic raisins to bump the fiber and fruit. I got a little more than 12 servings--12 regular sized muffins and 12 mini-muffins. These turned out moist, flavorful and just all around good! I might be able to cut back the sugar next time, too. My bananas were really ripe so my muffins turned out a little too sweet. This will make a nice snack/treat for the next day or two. They're quite good so I can't imagine they'd last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Substituted wheat flour for wheat bran, doubled recipe and used 5 bananas instead of 6 (I ran out). As I made it these were very dry and not sweet enough. I had planned to serve them at a mom's group but they were barely edible. They are decent with butter melted and honey spread over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
These were very good even with my healthier revisions: unsweetened applesauce instead of butter; just under a 1/2 cup of honey instead of brown sugar; whole wheat instead of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Illinois, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These are great muffins, I made a double batch and put them in the freezer for quick breakfasts. I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter, and used whole wheat for a third of the flour. To increase the nutritional value, next time I might use half all-purpose and half whole wheat. They are very moist and delicious, perfect touch of sweetness...we all enjoyed them and they are a much healthier option for a 'grab-and-go'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious! I made the recipe exactly how stated and they turned out great. They didn't stick to the pan at all either. The second time I made them I substituted 1/2 the flour for whole wheat flour and added some fresh blueberries, also delicious! My 2 year old son LOVES them, which makes me happy since he can be a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Grrreat muffins! I made a few substitutions to make it healthier. I used 50/50 whole wheat/all purpose flour, omitted butter & used 1/2 cup of applesauce, 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend (do not pack sugar) & used 1/8 cup sour cream + 1/8 cup rice milk instead of milk. Oh, I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon & 1/4 cup raisins! The only thing my husband & I both didn't like was that half of the muffins stuck to the muffin papers. I guess this is due to the absence of butter. Next time, I'll skip the muffin papers & pour the batter straight into my muffin pans sprayed w/ a non-stick spray. Also, these muffins do not rise very much, so feel free to fill your pans at least almost to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great muffins which happen to be healthy! I substituted Stevia for the white sugar, applesauce for the oil, egg whites for the eggs and on the white flour split it between whole wheat and white. Once baked, I brushed on warm honey. Big hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Really tasty muffins! Reduced butter to 1/4 Cup and increased bran to 1 Cup. I love healthy tasty treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarsnz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I thought these were very good. I substituted ground flaxseed meal for the wheat bran and toasted the walnuts. They were definitely done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I used low sugar molasses in place of the milk. Also added about 3/4 cup raisans. Excellent moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States