Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
These muffins turned out great...they are moist and not overly sweet. I added chocolate chips. They are the best muffins I have ever made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These were good but I had trouble with them being kinda dry. I needed to use up the bananas that I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfloyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Good muffins! Used 1/2 butter & 1/2 applesauce. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This recipe makes excellent light, moist, muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Really delicious and easy to make. But I wouldn't be an allrecipes user if I didn't say . . . I added something! I increased the bran by 1/2 cup, added 3 tsp of wheat germ, added raisins, and used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 all purpose flour. The banana flavor really came through and the raisins added some sweetness and moisture. I would totally make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
DO NOT OVERBAKE! I pulled mine out a couple of minutes early, they looked set, and the toothpick came out clean when I toothpicked them. So moist and delicious! I cut the brown sugar back to 1/4c, and added 1/2c of the Russian Tea (search for it on this website!) mix, and the results were WONDERFUL! I had shrimpy bananas, so I used 4. Turned out amazing. Be sure to follow Alton Brown's advice: Add the dry ingredients all at once, then fold until JUST incorporated, then STOP! That's how to treat muffins. These worked great for regular size muffins, and also mini muffins, you just have to watch them and take them out when they're done. DELICIOUSABLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
When I don't have bananas, I substitute other fruits, like apples or canned pumpkin and add the spices that go with that fruit. This recipe is a keeper. A good way to use up fruit at the end of the week. I've even mixed apples with pears, pumpkin with craisins and I always add chopped walnuts. The possibilities are endless.Thanks Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I love this recipe. I change it up sometimes by reducing flour to 1 cup and add 1 cup oatmeal and 1 tablespoon cinnamon and an additional 3 tablespoos milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ERICANICOLE27
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Okay so I did my best to make these sort of healthier. I didn't look at any reviews before baking these so sorry if I'm repeating anything anyone has said. I think I got these down to about 80 calories per muffin, 24 muffins per batch. These are my revisions: Instead of 1/2c of butter: I used about 1/4c of butter and filled the rest of the measuring cup with plain greek yogurt. Instead of 1/2c of brown sugar: I used 1/4c of brown sugar and 1-1/2 tbls of organic honey. Instead of reg milk I used almond milk. Instead of 1-1/2c of white flour: I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1/2c of white flour. I only used 1/3c of wheat bran. I don’t like it that much but know its good for me so I had to use some. I used 4 medium bananas. Oh yeah I whisked the eggs really well before adding, then I folded them in. They turned out moist, yummy, kinda fluffy, and overall good. I would make them again. My 3 year old daughter likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERICANICOLE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'd actually give this recipe 3.5 out of 5 stars. It turned out well, was easy and healthy "ish", but the muffins were sort of bland in that they weren't sweet enough. I'd make them again, but would work some splenda in there to sweeten things up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States