Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Like other users, I replace the butter with unsweetened applesauce. I cut back on the sugar a bit but will use the stated amount next time. They weren't quite sweet enough for muffins to me. I used 2 medium bananas and two small ones. Throw your overripened bananas in the freezer then defrost on the counter for 30-40 min. when you're ready to bake with them. I might experiment with adding some spices next time. Maybe some cinnamon? Fantastic recipe and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Delicious! The only modifications I made were to use skim milk instead of whole milk and used 1 cup whole wheat flour plus 1/2 cup of all purpose flour. This will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Absolutely perfect and sooo good. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
These were amazing!! Very moist and light. Only changes were Whole Wheat flour and added raisins. Will make these all the time!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
A few changes: I substituted the butter for applesauce, flour for wheat flour, and only used one egg. They're very moist and flavorful and I suggest using large VERY ripe bananas for extra sweetness. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Fabulous! I substituted applesauce for the butter and sour cream for the milk. I also used wheat flour. Other than that, I followed exactly. I added chocolate chips to half of the batch!! Yum!! This one will stay in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWeiser29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
The texture of these muffins is perfect, very moist. They have a strong banana flavor too. I used half flax seed and half bran but otherwise followed the recipe. I think next time I'd cut down on the brown sugar, since they're a little sweet for me. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I also modified it a little - used Earth Balance instead of butter, wheat flour instead of all purpose, and cut down a little on the brown sugar, and threw in a few chopped dates instead. I must have tripled the amount of walnuts, and they are SUPERB. Moist and buttery... Yum!! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
great flavor, very easy to make I added raisons and they were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made these for the first time today...very yummy. My daughter and I loved them but hubby was no too impressed. But on further investigations he says he does not like bran muffins so maybe that is why he did not like them. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States