Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I too tweaked this recipe to my taste. I use all wholewheat flour with 1/4 C ground flax seed. 4 bananas and omit the milk. They always turn out so moist with great banana flavor!Good guilt-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I gave this a 4 because I made some variations. Very moist, great texture and very tasty muffins. I doubled this recipe and added 1/2c. flax seed meal, 1/4c. Chia seeds (grounded up) 2 tsp. all spice and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also soaked the bran in the milk and added an extra 1/4c. milk (for added moisture because I added the extra flax and chia) I also did 2c. whole wheat flour and 1c. All purpose flour. (I usually take 1/2 butter and replace it with applesauce but didn't have any this time.) I didn't add the nuts as I wanted to send these to school for the kids lunches. Made 3/4 of the recipe plain and added Chocolate chips to the last portion. These Were Great. Will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My 1 & 2 year olds love these. I follow the recipe other than replacing half of the butter with apple sauce and half of the white flour for whole wheat flour. I also used oat bran because that is what I had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Wow, really good. The bran and banana flavors are balanced nicely. Threw in some mini chocolate chips to tempt my picky eaters and the first batch was gone in less than two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
It was very good, definitely a keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Love these! Sometimes I add cinnamon or semi-sweet chocolate chips, there are lots of variations you could implement! I also use half whole wheat flour and pecans over walnuts, just as a personal preference. They're such a great, wholesome snack on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Pretty good. Made with applesauce instead of oil and oat bran instead of wheat. Next time I will add some berries to liven it up but as is a tasty, healthy breakfast or snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I usually like to follow recipes, but I had extra stuff on hand, so I added craisins, cinnamon and nutmeg. I'll let you know how the alterations turn out! UPDATE: They turned out great. We both loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
OMG. These muffins are delicious. These are the only substitutions I made to make them healthier: substituded 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter, decrease the flour to 1 cup and added in 1/2 cup oat bran, used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tablespoons truvia baking sugar, and added a couple chocolate chips for good measure. HOLY MOLY. They are dense, moist, delicious and incredibly healthy!!!! And the batter made enough for about 16 muffins. I'll be making these as often as I have a sweet tooth (every single day). Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Good basic muffin recipe. I made a few changes to incorporate flax seeds and whole wheat flour. I replaced the eggs with ground flax seeds (1 tbsp flax seed meal + 3 tbsp water replaces 1 egg). I used 1 cup of wheat bran and 1/2 cup of each whole wheat and all purpose flour. The muffins came out moist and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States