Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I added 1 teaspoon of allspice to the recipe and sprinkled some sugar on top of the muffins before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These are great muffins and with a little doctoring they can become extremely nutritious as well. I substitute 1 1/2 cups of flax seed meal for the butter, and I add walnuts and cinnamon for extra texture and flavor. If I have soy milk around I use that instead of the cows milk. You wind up with very dense, tasty muffins that are extremely good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I substituted some whole wheat flour and added flax seeds. They were moist and tasty. My second batch in 24 hours are baking right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
The bran makes this a tasty alternative to the usual banana muffins. I added chocolate chips to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Nice healthy twist, great flavor, you wouldn't suspect these are good for you! Kids can help pour the batter into the muffin cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
Great recipe, I also added a few chocolate chips. Moist and the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
These muffins are great! Sweet and healthy. Kids love them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
These are my very favorite muffins of all time!! I will make these all the time now. I used part whole wheat flour, part all purp flour. I also added a little wheat germ for that "extra" health bonus, and I used oat bran instead of wheat bran. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Best banana muffin recipe I've ever made plus it is a great way to sneak beneficial bran into my diet. Great with chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
The recipe calls for walnuts but did not specify an amount. I substituted 1/4 cup flax seed and it work out well. Also, depending on the size of the bananas used, the mixture may come out too thin. I used large bananas and that was the case. I just added more bran to get the proper consistency. Perfect muffins for the church function, left overs went to work where they disappeard in an hour, with people asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States