Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I was looking for a lower fat/calorie banana bran muffin so I modified this in combination with another low fat bran muffin recipe. I substituted the butter for 1/4c unsweetened applesauce, only used 1 egg, halved the sugar to 1/4c, increased the wheat bran to 1c and used 1/2c each of wheat flour and all purpose flour. The sweetness was just perfect for me (the banana gives a lot of sweet flavor) and so moist! Each muffin turns out to be about 100 calories, so we're free to munch on them guiltless! The first batch I made used only 2 bananas and 1/2c applesauce, this was a little dryer than using 3 bananas and 1/4c applesauce, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
These were excellent... very moist, great flavor, enjoyed by all. The only change I made was to use whole wheat flour. Thank you for the recipe. This recipe is a keeper, my favorite muffin recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These are great muffins and with a little doctoring they can become extremely nutritious as well. I substitute 1 1/2 cups of flax seed meal for the butter, and I add walnuts and cinnamon for extra texture and flavor. If I have soy milk around I use that instead of the cows milk. You wind up with very dense, tasty muffins that are extremely good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
* These are GREAT!!!! * As others suggested, I used applesauce instead of butter and 3/4C whole wheat flour. Also 1/4C wheat germ & 1/4C flax seed in place of the bran and added a tsp. of pumpkin pie spice. I only wish I'd had walnuts on hand! But they still came out wonderful regardless! Even a non-healthy junky friend liked them tremendously...she could not believe they were good for you food! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This is a great recipe! I used 1 1/2 cups of natural wheat bran and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 cup frozen blueberries. Yummy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Was looking for a relatively healthy banana muffin recipe and this pretty much fits the bill! I substituted applesauce for the butter in this with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I substituted some whole wheat flour and added flax seeds. They were moist and tasty. My second batch in 24 hours are baking right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I was gifted a ginomous amount of raisin bran that I was kind of scratching my head about how we were going to use it as we're not huge cereal eaters. (I know it's not wheat bran but with us being on such a tight budget, I have to use what I got.) Thanks for the ingredient search I was able to use a small amount in this recipe. I cut the butter back by half and added in a quarter cup of homemade organic applesauce. I used buttermilk, whole wheat white flour and omitted the nuts only because we didn't have any. I did add in a heaping half cup of organic raisins to bump the fiber and fruit. I got a little more than 12 servings--12 regular sized muffins and 12 mini-muffins. These turned out moist, flavorful and just all around good! I might be able to cut back the sugar next time, too. My bananas were really ripe so my muffins turned out a little too sweet. This will make a nice snack/treat for the next day or two. They're quite good so I can't imagine they'd last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I added 1 teaspoon of allspice to the recipe and sprinkled some sugar on top of the muffins before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These are great muffins, I made a double batch and put them in the freezer for quick breakfasts. I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter, and used whole wheat for a third of the flour. To increase the nutritional value, next time I might use half all-purpose and half whole wheat. They are very moist and delicious, perfect touch of sweetness...we all enjoyed them and they are a much healthier option for a 'grab-and-go'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States