Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I love this recipe. I change it up sometimes by reducing flour to 1 cup and add 1 cup oatmeal and 1 tablespoon cinnamon and an additional 3 tablespoos milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ERICANICOLE27
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Okay so I did my best to make these sort of healthier. I didn't look at any reviews before baking these so sorry if I'm repeating anything anyone has said. I think I got these down to about 80 calories per muffin, 24 muffins per batch. These are my revisions: Instead of 1/2c of butter: I used about 1/4c of butter and filled the rest of the measuring cup with plain greek yogurt. Instead of 1/2c of brown sugar: I used 1/4c of brown sugar and 1-1/2 tbls of organic honey. Instead of reg milk I used almond milk. Instead of 1-1/2c of white flour: I used 1c whole wheat flour, 1/2c of white flour. I only used 1/3c of wheat bran. I don’t like it that much but know its good for me so I had to use some. I used 4 medium bananas. Oh yeah I whisked the eggs really well before adding, then I folded them in. They turned out moist, yummy, kinda fluffy, and overall good. I would make them again. My 3 year old daughter likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERICANICOLE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'd actually give this recipe 3.5 out of 5 stars. It turned out well, was easy and healthy "ish", but the muffins were sort of bland in that they weren't sweet enough. I'd make them again, but would work some splenda in there to sweeten things up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Bourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Fantastic base recipe. Tried the regular recipe first and they were great. Next time I made them a bit healthier and still were fantastic. I used 1/2 sweetened cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 plain greek yogurt in place of butter. Cut sugar to 1/4 cup (as I used sweetened apple sauce). Used all whole wheat flour and added 1/4 cup flax seed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Just ate one of these fresh out of the oven, so good! I was looking for a bran muffin and had some over-ripe bananas, so this was a perfect recipe. I used other reviewers suggestions, cutting out some of the butter for applesauce, adding cinnamon, and ground flax seed in addition to the wheat bran. I added some choc. chips so that maybe the fiance would eat them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious. I had oat bran, not wheat, so that's what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I LOVE THESE! I make them with just bananas, or they are great with pumpkin. cranberry sauce or all kinds of different things you can think of with the bananas. I always make a double batch and freeze them. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Baked this for my Mom. She said they were the best muffins she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I love these muffins! Taking the advice from previous reviewers, I substituted the butter for 1/4 cup of applesauce (I used chunky, since that's all I had, but I figured chunks of apples couldn't be a bad thing!). I also increased the bran to one cup, used an extra banana because I had it, and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I didn't find these particularly great, nothing about them really wowed me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States