Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by suzyq2
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Very delicious. I took advice from other reviewers and reduced the butter to 4 tablespoons of unsalted, 1/4 cup of brown sugar,1/4 cup of molasses, 1/4 cup of applesauce,1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of wheat germ, 1 teaspoon nutmeg,2 teaspoons of cinnamon and increased the wheat bran to 1 cup. This may have more added ingredients than you may like, however these muffins are very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyq2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were pretty good very moist mine turned out a bit dense not as fluffy as i would of liked but still yummy!! i subbed apple sauce for the butter easy and pretty healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Light, fluffy muffins. Even my teenager liked them. I doubled the bran (used bran buds cereal) and reduced the flour. Also used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup molasses. Used raisins instead of walnuts. Yay! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Terrific! I have been looking for a decent, healthy banana bread recipe for ages! I used a whole wheat self rising flour (pancake flour actually) to reduce the number of ingredients I had to fool with (self rising allows you to skip the soda, powder, and salt). Otherwise followed recipe exactly. But next time I will try applesauce instead of butter - probably a 'heavy' 1/2cup to ensure moist muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
it was a very good recipe. i added an extra banana, but used less butter, flour and sugar. i substituted with a small Organic Applesauce (250 g, i think). and i used more Bran and Oatmeal to replace the flour so it was still a total of 2 cups. Very moist and tasty. and a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Love this recipe use it all the time and we're using it for a bake sale right now signing off this is B & D S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Super yummy, moist and delicious even with a couple of healthy changes - I used applesauce instead of butter, also used half whole wheat flour. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVES_POOKY
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Very good! I added 1 tsp banana extract, I used 1/2 AP flour and 1/2 WW flour and 1/2 cup craisins. I also added 1 Tbsp lemon juice. Delicious, not too sweet, nice and moist. Thanks this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
So delicious! I used a little more bran, flour, and extra milk since I had five and a half bananas. I also added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. These were super moist and not too sweet. I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Excellent Recipe.. made with whole wheat flour and added a cup of blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States