Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I made these as written and they are amazing! Next time i will start to substitute butter with applesause and substitute in some ww flour. Thanks for such a great recipe. My 3 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe! But the next time I made it, I left out most of the butter and two of the bananas. I used 1/4 cup of Smart Balance margarine and used substitute eggs. I also add dried cranberries, chopped dates and raisins, sometimes pecans. I use 1/4 cup brown sugar. I often substitute yogurt for the milk. • ¼ cup smart balance margarine, softened • 1/3 cup brown sugar • 1 bananas, mashed • 1/4 cup yogurt • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract • ½ cup egg substitute • 1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour • 1 1/2 cup all bran cereal • 1 teaspoon baking powder • 1 teaspoon baking soda • 1/4 teaspoon salt • options: Add 2 tablespoons each of any of the following: dried cranberries, raisins, and chopped dates; ¼ cup chopped nuts (pecans, walnuts, pistachios, almonds) Okay the rest of the recipe is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
These are pretty good. I was looking for a banana muffin w/bran. I love bran muffins. This was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Moist and delicious! I changed the all-purpose flour to whole-wheat flour and the muffins still received two-thumbs-up from my family. Great recipe! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yummmmmmyyyyy. Added in an extra banana just because and they turned out so moist. Also substituted rice milk for the milk. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
YUM! YUM! YUM! These are delicious muffins and such a simple recipe. Like other reviewers, I wanted to make the muffins healthier, so I made the following changes:1)Used Applesauce in place of butter, 2)Used egg beaters, 3)increased wheat bran by 1/2 cup, decreased AP flour by 1/2 cup, 4)Added Cinnamon and Pumpkin Pie Spices, 5)Added raisins in place of nuts, and 5) used low fat buttermilk (because I needed to use it up). The muffins turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Delicious! Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness, my kids loved them! This will be a family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gowrie, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
One of the better muffin recipes I have made. I followed the recipe except I left out the nuts. Really good. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These are amazing! One of the best bran muffin recipes I've tried. Nice, cake-like texture. In my oven, 20 minutes was perfect. I tried to make them a little healthier by using 1 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat. Also wanted to sub in applesauce for the butter but unfortunately my applesauce had gone moldy. Will try next time though. Anyway, these are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a great base recipe because it is very easy to adapt while still seeing great results. My review is of a significantly altered recipe, but it was still delicious. I used silken lite tofu in place of the butter, quinoa for the bran (I also did 1 cup of quinoa and 1 cup AP flour) and used pecans for walnuts. The result was quite delicious. Don't be afraid to tweak to accomidate whatever grains or nuts you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States