Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Turned out really good. I used pecans instead of walnuts and oat bran instead of wheat bran. 20 mins was perfect in my oven at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaxs
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This recipe was delicious but I made a double batch and replace had of the butter for peanut butter add a few dark chocolate chips and flax seeds the family couldn't wait till they came out of the oven. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brown eyed girl in NC
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I always make a new recipe exactly as the recipe says to, then if I want to tweek it I know where.My second batch I only changed the sweetner, but I did add a couple things. Butter? Of course, I'm not going to eat the whole batch. Instead of brown sugar (I don't know why folks think it's better for you, it's just white sugar with molasses added to it) I used organic sprouted barley malt syrup at 1/3 C. I soaked the bran in the milk while I prepared the batter, and, I added a cup of thawed cranberries that I gave a couple pulses in the processor and sprinkled a tablespoon of flour and a teaspoon of sugar on them before adding to batter. The flour keeps them suspended in the batter. I love the tart berries with the bananas and they came out just as wonderful as the original recipe. I normally use a scale for baking so I weighed the cup of cranberries I wanted in case anybody wants to add them. Cranberries can be any size but weight is weight, chopped, whole, big or small. They weighed 5 oz. Oh, to compensate for the extra moisture I used I simply used bread flour in stead. A cup of bread flour weighs a 1/4 oz more than all purpose. I made these in the giant 6 to a pan muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I too tweaked this recipe to my taste. I use all wholewheat flour with 1/4 C ground flax seed. 4 bananas and omit the milk. They always turn out so moist with great banana flavor!Good guilt-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I gave this a 4 because I made some variations. Very moist, great texture and very tasty muffins. I doubled this recipe and added 1/2c. flax seed meal, 1/4c. Chia seeds (grounded up) 2 tsp. all spice and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also soaked the bran in the milk and added an extra 1/4c. milk (for added moisture because I added the extra flax and chia) I also did 2c. whole wheat flour and 1c. All purpose flour. (I usually take 1/2 butter and replace it with applesauce but didn't have any this time.) I didn't add the nuts as I wanted to send these to school for the kids lunches. Made 3/4 of the recipe plain and added Chocolate chips to the last portion. These Were Great. Will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My 1 & 2 year olds love these. I follow the recipe other than replacing half of the butter with apple sauce and half of the white flour for whole wheat flour. I also used oat bran because that is what I had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Wow, really good. The bran and banana flavors are balanced nicely. Threw in some mini chocolate chips to tempt my picky eaters and the first batch was gone in less than two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
It was very good, definitely a keeper recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Love these! Sometimes I add cinnamon or semi-sweet chocolate chips, there are lots of variations you could implement! I also use half whole wheat flour and pecans over walnuts, just as a personal preference. They're such a great, wholesome snack on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Pretty good. Made with applesauce instead of oil and oat bran instead of wheat. Next time I will add some berries to liven it up but as is a tasty, healthy breakfast or snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States