Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
So easy - so tasty! I wanted a healthy alternative to cake, so I made these for my one year old to take to day care to celebrate her birthday. I did tweak the recipe some-- (I doubled the recipe) I added a couple egg yoks, a little extra vanila and a whole lot of blueberries. Then I baked them in mini-muffin pans instead of a cake pan, and baked them a few degrees cooler. They came out very moist and flavorful. I think the trick is to pack them full of blueberries. One of the teachers even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Taste really good for how healthy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wonderful! My 5 and 3 year olds loved this, as well. We used 2 whole eggs instead of only whites, and added a bit more banana and cinnamon. We sprinkled a tiny bit of cinnamon-sugar on top and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
The reason I am giving this 5 stars is that I love the fact it is a healthy muffin recipe. I exchanged the brown sugar for about a 1/4 c. brown sugar splenda blend and also added some extra fiber to the muffins. My husband LOVES them and I will continue to share these when family comes to visit. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HogFan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe was perfect! I used four overly ripe bananas that I had stored in the freezer and threw in some extra blueberries. I also used the splenda blend of brown sugar. These came out extremely moist and delicious! I will definitely make these muffins again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
this is a WONDERFUL recipe! the whole wheat flour gives a great texture & the brown sugar and banana give the perfect sweetness along with the perfect taste of cinnamon. you should DEFINITELY try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
WOW! I am so pleased to finally have a recipe that is both healthy and GOOD! I love that it used ALL wheat flour and NO oil. YUM! both of my kids LOVED it, and my husband said it was okay (he's really got a sweet tooth, so for him I'd have to add 1 cup of brown sugar to please). The only thing is that I altered it a little. I added 1/2 cup of 2%milk because my bananas were ripe, but not slimy ripe (which is what I usually use) and my batter was more like dough and not at all muffin-like. It is a total repeat recipe that I will be using again and again for my family. I even feel confident that this will be in my "Crowd Pleaser" collection. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Excellent Recipe!! No matter what, DON'T add milk. The only thing needed to be done to the recipe is this - mash half the blueberries and add to the banana mixture before adding to dry ingredients. This gave the whole muffin a sweet flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent and healthy!! I used 4 bananas that I had frozen and 2 whole eggs and 2 tbsp of flax seed meal to make this an even healthier recipe! They are MOIST and YUMMY! The kids AND the adults liked them!! Thanks for a great and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These were super easy and so delicious. I was nervous about trying the recipe because of the mixed reviews, so I was very happy with the end result. They are just sweet and cinnamony enough that they do not taste too healthy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csdodson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States