Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
It's a pretty easy recipe to follow and very healthy for a muffing, however it lacks taste. Adding walnuts helped but the muffing dried up after a couple of days. I see the potential in this recipe, but it requires tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I changed the brown sugar to 1/2 cup sugar. I used 2 whites. I added 3/4 cup skim milk, 1 tablespoon oil, 2 tablespoons natural applesauce, and a little salt. I had 3/4 cup banana and 1 1/4 cup blueberries. I baked them at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. Next time I will try all applesauce and use splenda for half of the sugar. My husband, 2yr old, and I really liked them. My husband said they taste more like a quick bread than a muffin, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEALTHYMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A quick recipe, but not too much flavor, besides the blueberries. Adding a little sugar on the top before putting them in the oven helps to sweeten it up, and yes it does need tweaking. The mix after adding the egg white mixture was too dry and I had to add more egg whites. Using all whole wheat flour can make them too bready, maybe doing half wheat and half white; I'll let you know when I try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
So easy - so tasty! I wanted a healthy alternative to cake, so I made these for my one year old to take to day care to celebrate her birthday. I did tweak the recipe some-- (I doubled the recipe) I added a couple egg yoks, a little extra vanila and a whole lot of blueberries. Then I baked them in mini-muffin pans instead of a cake pan, and baked them a few degrees cooler. They came out very moist and flavorful. I think the trick is to pack them full of blueberries. One of the teachers even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I halved this recipe in order to put it in a 12 slot mini muffin tin, but then forgot to half the banana. This turned into wonderfully moist muffins and everyone loved the texture! I also sprinkled a small bit of white sugar on top before baking to give a crust and hid 1 semisweet chocolate chip into each muffin for a nice suprise. Great recipe, quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is the first Muffin that I've baked and I'm very happy. It was easy to prepare but I used 180C (my oven doesn't have 170C setting) and baked for 15 min. Also I lined my muffin trays instead of greasing them. The outcome tasted really great and using good quality blueberries really help add bits of sweetess. Only problem is the muffins didn't rise as much as I thought they would and they tasted quite thick, more like bread than a muffin. Still Yummy and Healthy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Ok, any one who is familiar with the movie "Charlie's Angels", and remembers the part where Alex (the Lucy Liu character) bakes muffins and Dylan (Drew Barrymore) throws one at Natalie (Cam Diaz) and it sticks in the door.....LOL, that's sorta what these reminded me of. BUT, for as healthy as they are, with low calories...I'll take it! I did use egg beaters, which could be why they were a bit dense, but my 5 year old who can finally eat eggs really liked them....actually he made them. Next time I will add nutmeg and maybe another banana + more vanilla. Thanks for the nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Good. I followed others advice by adding a touch more bananas. There were plenty of blueberries, good overall for it's health content; best when topped with a touch of butter! I also think a cinnamon/sugar crunchy topping would be good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
These were ok, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica D
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
They were sweet, but healthy and moist all at the same time! We actually made mini-muffins with a bit of applesauce and wheat germ, and extra banana. Mmmmm...a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States