Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These were very, very good! I don't understand why some people said they weren't sweet enough. I thought they were perfect. If you want sweet, make cupcakes, not muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandamae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kadena Ab, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I thought these were horrible, to be honest. I wanted a healthier muffin, but they were sticky and dry. I wasn't going to change the recipie, but I had to add milk because the batter was far thicker than a muffin batter. Maybe I did something wrong--a lot of people liked these. Of course, a lot of people made seven or eight changes to the recipie and then rated it. I'm also not used to eating healthy recipies, so that could be it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I make these whenever I have bananas that are darker than what my family likes to eat. I feel they are a little dry so I add 1 tbsp of veg. oil. Overall I think they are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Pretty good but still need a little tweaking. I added an extra tsp. of vanilla, 1/2 c. applesauce, 1/4 cup milk and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top before baking. I will make again, but I think I'll add an extra banana next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
good muffins. I used white flour, and added 1/4 cup milk and 2 eggs instead of whites. I topped with 1/3 cup nuts, 1/3 cup brown sugard and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added extra blueberries. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These are DELICIOUS! i modified the recipe a bit, per recommendations below... I don't like to measure exactly soooo aside from the eggs, my substitutions are approximations: 2 egg whites and one whole egg, split the flour 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white, added a dash of salt, added 1/4 C. unsweet applesauce and 1/4 - 1/3 C light soy milk, and i used frozen blueberries, probably more than called for! I rinsed the berries in warm water to get some ice off them, then tossed them with maybe a Tbs of flour before folding them into the batter. I only had 3 almost over-ripe bananas but it worked well, also used 1/3 C PACKED dark brown sugar. After pouring to the muffin pan, I sprinkled a little Demerara cane sugar on top of each. They cooked quickly and rose really well so don't over-fill muffin pan! GREAT flavor, moist, perfect with a little bit of butter while still warm =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Ok muffins, lacked some flavor, and didn't rise very well. If I were to do these again, I would add about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I could be wrong, but I don't see the need for the baking soda, since there are very few acid producing ingredients in the recipe (perhaps this might have contributed to a lack of sufficient rising). You may get better rising results by eliminating the baking soda altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsjets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I might try using 1/2 wheat 1/2 white flour next time. I added both milk and oil to try and get the batter a bit thinner. I also used muffin cup liners and 1/4 of the muffin sticks to them. I guess they were OK but not a fav for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These are surprisingly yummy, considering all the ingredients are wholesome, healthy ones. No, they're not chocolate cupcakes, but my kids and I eat them up! I've made these 4 or 5 times now and I follow the recipe exactly. They freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POLAR BEAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
It was alright. The kids ate it, my husbend and I where not to happy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States