Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My boyfriend loves these. The only thing I changed was I used two large eggs instead of the four egg-whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I used whole wheat flour and cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup. This needed almost a full cup more liquid than was called for, I ended up adding buttermilk. I'm lucky they didn't turn out tough, I did my best not to over mix them. I did sprinkle just a touch of brown sugar over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I had 3 very ripe bananas and blueberries to use up so I tried these. I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and per other reviews I also added 1/3 cup Splenda. I added extra cinnamon and a splash of almond extract for more flavor. I even sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top before baking for 12 minutes in muffin top pans. Even with the modifications they were very bland and tasteless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Definitely too "healthy tasting"----not enough yum factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are excellent! So many of these recipes are insanely sweet. Not this one. Try it! You'll be glad you did. I added about a tbsp. of dark cocoa powder just cuz it sounded good and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Nice and healthy, the whole wheat and bananas compliment each other very well, everything was in perfect alignment to make a great muffin. It was missing that Wow factor though. I enjoyed them and would make them again if that was what I was in the mood for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
If these were titled, "healthy" I would have given it 4 stars. They're definitely a little bland, but if you want a healthy non greasy muffin, this is it. I used 2 eggs bc didn't want to waste 4. I did sprinkle cin/sugar on top (before baking) like others suggested but it wasn't strong enough. If I make these again, I won't add the topping, but I will split a hot muffin (after baking) and sprinkle cin/sug in it before eating. The more blueberries, the sweeter, so don't skimp! In my oven these rose nicely and were done after 18-19 minutes. I only got 11 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe almost exactly, but had to add a little milk as the batter was too dry. Also used 2 whole eggs vs. 4 egg whites. I know these are meant to be healthy muffins, but they really need more flavor! Might try again but add some butter and try a brown sugar crumble on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yum! These are fantastic! Like many raters, I slightly altered the recipe, using whole wheat pastry flour, two whole eggs instead of the whites, and 1/4 cup agave nectar in place of the brown sugar. I baked them at 325 degrees for 20 min. and they came out perfect. They rose beautifully and were very moist, with just the right amount of sweetness. I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I love muffins! And I loved this recipe because they are sooo much healthier, I didn't feel guilty eating them! They were dense, obviously because of only whole wheat flour, but they were definitely not dry. Great banana flavour, I did not measure 1 1/2 cups rather I just added 3 bananas. I do think I would try adding more cinnamon next time because I couldn't really taste it enough for my liking. I was worried when I first started adding the bananas and egg whites, that the batter would be really dry, but it ended up just as wet as any other muffin recipe I've used. This is my new go-to recipe when I want a muffin treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States