Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I am one of these cooks who really believes that any slight change in a recipe can have huge consequences. I just made a batch of these muffins, and my wife and 13 month old son ate half a dozen before they were cool. A couple things that I did differently: I sifted the flour with the dry ingredients - though I still used the larger grains of the flour. I used margarine instead of butter. I used large eggs and ended up with about 1/2 a cup of egg white from four eggs. I used two bananas that were so ripe they were black (never frozen though). Incidentally, two large bananas were exactly 1.5 cups mashed. I very precisely measured all ingredients, though the blueberries were probably a bit more than one cup. These were fresh, not frozen. The biggest change was that after putting in a spoonful of batter, I put in a teaspoon of blueberry jam. Then I filled the rest of the muffin cup up to about 80% full. I baked these muffins on the top rack for 20 minutes. They did not rise a lot, but they did rise more than the picture that is posted with the original recipe. It made one dozen fantastic, moist, and delicious muffins. This is a recipe that I'll use again and again... Oh, one more thing. I let the batter sit for about 20 minutes before I put it in the oven... This was by accident though cause I couldn't find the muffin pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Good wheat flour recipe. Used 2 whole eggs in place of 2 egg whites. Tip: do not use yellow bananas. I'm going to use a bit of orange juice the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
WOW! I am so pleased to finally have a recipe that is both healthy and GOOD! I love that it used ALL wheat flour and NO oil. YUM! both of my kids LOVED it, and my husband said it was okay (he's really got a sweet tooth, so for him I'd have to add 1 cup of brown sugar to please). The only thing is that I altered it a little. I added 1/2 cup of 2%milk because my bananas were ripe, but not slimy ripe (which is what I usually use) and my batter was more like dough and not at all muffin-like. It is a total repeat recipe that I will be using again and again for my family. I even feel confident that this will be in my "Crowd Pleaser" collection. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
The batter to these muffins was more like bread dough. After baking them my suspicion was correct. This recipe would make a great loaf of bread. Not a good muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Good recipe to adjust per preferences / ingredients on hand. As far as "healthy muffins" go, they are moist. I used 1c unbleached flour and 1c whole wheat flour; added about 1/3c agave syrup (to add a bit of sweetness and extra liquid per others' comments); used 2 whole eggs rather than 4 egg whites; and raisins instead of blueberries for added texture. I think they came out really well- 16 minutes perfect cooking time. If you are looking for a healthier muffin, this is a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe. I did take advise from others and added skim milk, more cinnimon, used just 2 egg whites, added a little nutmeg. I also added 1/2 cup of walnuts because my family likes them. I also used splenda instead of the sugar. They turned out quite moist. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made these last night, added an extra banana & a little nutmeg, and had to cook them about twice as long, but they turned out good! They're a little bland, but not bad! I think I'll make them again but add a lil' sweetener of some kind ;-) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
these turned out great for a healthy muffin. I love trying healthy baking recipes but they usually turn out inedible. These turned out moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These were OKAY. For some reason mine weren't so much fluffy as they were little rocks. I followed the recipe exactly, maybe it was my flour brand or something. Anyways, if you are looking for healthy these aren't too bad in terms of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
These are great muffins for the family, my mum simply love it when i made it and adding the fact that it's healthy but i still can't get the satisfaction from the others for they thought of the muffin a little bit dry. Might be the fact that it's made out of whole wheat. From the other's review, will next time add a little milk to make it softer. This is an amazing recipe, please try it! (^^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States