Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These were super easy and so delicious. I was nervous about trying the recipe because of the mixed reviews, so I was very happy with the end result. They are just sweet and cinnamony enough that they do not taste too healthy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csdodson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent and healthy!! I used 4 bananas that I had frozen and 2 whole eggs and 2 tbsp of flax seed meal to make this an even healthier recipe! They are MOIST and YUMMY! The kids AND the adults liked them!! Thanks for a great and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Excellent Recipe!! No matter what, DON'T add milk. The only thing needed to be done to the recipe is this - mash half the blueberries and add to the banana mixture before adding to dry ingredients. This gave the whole muffin a sweet flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Not bad for a healthy muffin...but definitely not great. I followed the recipe except I added some unsweetened applesauce for a more moist muffin. Mine looked nothing like those in the picture...they didn't rise at all. They will suffice but not sure if I will make again! Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I am one of these cooks who really believes that any slight change in a recipe can have huge consequences. I just made a batch of these muffins, and my wife and 13 month old son ate half a dozen before they were cool. A couple things that I did differently: I sifted the flour with the dry ingredients - though I still used the larger grains of the flour. I used margarine instead of butter. I used large eggs and ended up with about 1/2 a cup of egg white from four eggs. I used two bananas that were so ripe they were black (never frozen though). Incidentally, two large bananas were exactly 1.5 cups mashed. I very precisely measured all ingredients, though the blueberries were probably a bit more than one cup. These were fresh, not frozen. The biggest change was that after putting in a spoonful of batter, I put in a teaspoon of blueberry jam. Then I filled the rest of the muffin cup up to about 80% full. I baked these muffins on the top rack for 20 minutes. They did not rise a lot, but they did rise more than the picture that is posted with the original recipe. It made one dozen fantastic, moist, and delicious muffins. This is a recipe that I'll use again and again... Oh, one more thing. I let the batter sit for about 20 minutes before I put it in the oven... This was by accident though cause I couldn't find the muffin pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Good wheat flour recipe. Used 2 whole eggs in place of 2 egg whites. Tip: do not use yellow bananas. I'm going to use a bit of orange juice the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
WOW! I am so pleased to finally have a recipe that is both healthy and GOOD! I love that it used ALL wheat flour and NO oil. YUM! both of my kids LOVED it, and my husband said it was okay (he's really got a sweet tooth, so for him I'd have to add 1 cup of brown sugar to please). The only thing is that I altered it a little. I added 1/2 cup of 2%milk because my bananas were ripe, but not slimy ripe (which is what I usually use) and my batter was more like dough and not at all muffin-like. It is a total repeat recipe that I will be using again and again for my family. I even feel confident that this will be in my "Crowd Pleaser" collection. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
The batter to these muffins was more like bread dough. After baking them my suspicion was correct. This recipe would make a great loaf of bread. Not a good muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Good recipe to adjust per preferences / ingredients on hand. As far as "healthy muffins" go, they are moist. I used 1c unbleached flour and 1c whole wheat flour; added about 1/3c agave syrup (to add a bit of sweetness and extra liquid per others' comments); used 2 whole eggs rather than 4 egg whites; and raisins instead of blueberries for added texture. I think they came out really well- 16 minutes perfect cooking time. If you are looking for a healthier muffin, this is a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe. I did take advise from others and added skim milk, more cinnimon, used just 2 egg whites, added a little nutmeg. I also added 1/2 cup of walnuts because my family likes them. I also used splenda instead of the sugar. They turned out quite moist. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States