Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
ok. here goes some ideas about the recipe. I thought that I followed the recipe close enough. But I must have done something that changed what all of you got in the end. Mine were quite moist. I used 1 3/4 c whole wheat flour, 1/4 c ground flax, 4 slimmy ripe bananas, 1 1/3 c of frozen large blueberries and 1 c 60% cocoa chocolate chips, 4 egg whites and the rest the same as the original recipe. I didn't think any of these changes would have made such a great difference. They were very moist, and had to add another 3 minutes to the time for baking. Anyone want to try this way and let me know how they work for you? Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I thought this recipe was very dry and bland. Sorry to those of you who loved it, I just didn't enjoy it. I added cinnamon, and the batter was so dry I ha to add soy milk. I think it needs more sugar, and some fat. Maybe 1/2 cup oil or melted butter. I'll try it again some other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These are really tasty. They are quite flavorful with the bananas, blueberries, and cinnamon. My only complaint is they were a bit on the dry/dense side, but hey, they are healthy muffins, what do you expect? I added more blueberries than called for, maybe 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acyland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I found this recipe to be average. It was healthy, which was nice, but I found it kind of bland. It also wasn't very moist. I had to use white flour instead of wheat b/c I didn't have any on hand, and I used 2 whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites, so perhaps that is the reason. I also doubled the cinnamon, and it was still a little bland. I probably won't make these again without some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The only changes I made to this recipe were to add 1/2 cup of mashed blueberries in addition to the 1 cup of whole berries. I also doubled the cinnamon and added three dashes of nutmeg. Although these muffins were very moist (and beautiful) they did not have a lot of flavor. Even adding a big tab of butter to the center while they were hot did not do much to help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I don't know if I did something wrong but the mixture was so dry! I added two whole eggs instead of egg whites, and I had to add milk because of the dryness. They stuck to the papers so much that you ended up losing half your muffin to it and they tasted very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These were super easy and so delicious. I was nervous about trying the recipe because of the mixed reviews, so I was very happy with the end result. They are just sweet and cinnamony enough that they do not taste too healthy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csdodson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent and healthy!! I used 4 bananas that I had frozen and 2 whole eggs and 2 tbsp of flax seed meal to make this an even healthier recipe! They are MOIST and YUMMY! The kids AND the adults liked them!! Thanks for a great and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Excellent Recipe!! No matter what, DON'T add milk. The only thing needed to be done to the recipe is this - mash half the blueberries and add to the banana mixture before adding to dry ingredients. This gave the whole muffin a sweet flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Not bad for a healthy muffin...but definitely not great. I followed the recipe except I added some unsweetened applesauce for a more moist muffin. Mine looked nothing like those in the picture...they didn't rise at all. They will suffice but not sure if I will make again! Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States