Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Only thing I changed was not adding and vanilla extract, which I recently ran out of. These were KILLER! I will be making them sooo many more times! My very picky boyfriend even ate 2... until I told him they were healthy.. and he asked the ingredients... Once he found out they were whole wheat he was done. They were wonderful though, and I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I thought these muffins were very bland. It's hard to find muffins with much flavor and that was certainly a problem with these. They were much better served with butter (isn't everything?) but a great muffin can stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was a snap! I made them this week and shared them with friend and family. Everyone raved about them. I added some applesauce to make them moist and I added more vanilla because I love the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie Pehleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Made these last night. Took the advice of one member and mashed 1/2 the blueberries and used 4 ripe bananas. Followed recipe to the T and they turned out very tart and BLAND. Daughter and hubby wouldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
ok. here goes some ideas about the recipe. I thought that I followed the recipe close enough. But I must have done something that changed what all of you got in the end. Mine were quite moist. I used 1 3/4 c whole wheat flour, 1/4 c ground flax, 4 slimmy ripe bananas, 1 1/3 c of frozen large blueberries and 1 c 60% cocoa chocolate chips, 4 egg whites and the rest the same as the original recipe. I didn't think any of these changes would have made such a great difference. They were very moist, and had to add another 3 minutes to the time for baking. Anyone want to try this way and let me know how they work for you? Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I thought this recipe was very dry and bland. Sorry to those of you who loved it, I just didn't enjoy it. I added cinnamon, and the batter was so dry I ha to add soy milk. I think it needs more sugar, and some fat. Maybe 1/2 cup oil or melted butter. I'll try it again some other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These are really tasty. They are quite flavorful with the bananas, blueberries, and cinnamon. My only complaint is they were a bit on the dry/dense side, but hey, they are healthy muffins, what do you expect? I added more blueberries than called for, maybe 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acyland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I found this recipe to be average. It was healthy, which was nice, but I found it kind of bland. It also wasn't very moist. I had to use white flour instead of wheat b/c I didn't have any on hand, and I used 2 whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites, so perhaps that is the reason. I also doubled the cinnamon, and it was still a little bland. I probably won't make these again without some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The only changes I made to this recipe were to add 1/2 cup of mashed blueberries in addition to the 1 cup of whole berries. I also doubled the cinnamon and added three dashes of nutmeg. Although these muffins were very moist (and beautiful) they did not have a lot of flavor. Even adding a big tab of butter to the center while they were hot did not do much to help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I don't know if I did something wrong but the mixture was so dry! I added two whole eggs instead of egg whites, and I had to add milk because of the dryness. They stuck to the papers so much that you ended up losing half your muffin to it and they tasted very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States