Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a great starting off recipe. I too tweaked it a bit. I used 1.5 cups unbleached flour and 1/2 c w/w flour, added a 1/2 tsp salt, used 3 medium very ripe bananas. In a 1 cup measure, I cracked 2 lrg eggs, added 1/4 c veg oil and then filled to the 1 c line with milk. Mixed everything together til moist and was able to get 24 muffins. Cooked for 10 mins then rotated my pans and cooked for addt'l 10 mins. They are a touch on the bland side, but next time I will try adding a bit more sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
These were wonderful! I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, did 2 eggs (instead of egg whites), and instead of blueberries I added crasins. When you pour the batter into the muffin tin the batter looks very think and kind of dry, but when the come out of the oven they are great! I love this recipe because it is relatively healthy with whole wheat flour, only 1/3 cup of brown sugar and no oil, butter or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
These are great muffins!! I was so happy to find a recipe that used all wheat flour, as I had some extra whole-wheat pastry flour that I wanted to use. I added 2 egg yolks and had to use frozen blueberries because fresh ones are so expensive here; but they turned out great! Not too sweet either, just right with a nice touch of cinnamon flavor. The recipe made exactly enough for 12 regular-sized muffins. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought these were pretty disappointing. My two-year-old wasn't really into them either. Seems like something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberrygashes23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great muffins for my 1 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The muffins were very, very thick and bland. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good for a healthy muffin. Not the most flavourful but healthy none the less. It did need a splash of milk as the batter was too dry, approximately 1/3 cup is what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is an absolutely great recipe. Very easy to make, hard to mess up. I did make a couple changes to mine after reading several reviews. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour, because the whole wheat seemed like it would be too heavy.I used 4 medium sized very ripe bananas. (This is what made it so moist and sweet)I used about 1/2 cup of splenda brown sugar blend. Sprinkled in some regular splenda sweetener. I added a little fat free milk, because the mix was a little too thick. I sprinkled just a couple semi-sweet chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, a little bit of rolled oats and sprinkled a litte bit more of splenda sweetener. These came out perfect and very tasty! I recalculated the calories and still came out not too bad. About 135 cal. each. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I thought this was a good healthy muffin recipe. I did make some changes, used 4 ripe bananas, 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites, used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/3. Also, I used frozen blueberries. The came out moist and did rise quite a bit. I had to cook them a couple of extra minutes. I think next time I will try sprinkling them with sugar in the raw for a little more sweetness and maybe add extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Made these a couple weeks ago, to a T. Then over that weekend, and again today. Today I did not have blueberries, so I used 1/2 black berries and 1/2 strawberries. I did not think they were overly dry and they are sweet enough. A new favorite! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States