Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These tasted wonderful! The only change I made was to use half white flour and half whole wheat, so they turned out less dense. The banana made the muffins moist, and everyone loved them! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
These are so-so. I used 2 whole eggs and regular flour as a substitute. You can't really taste the banana flavor too much--just tastes kind of bland. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
After I finished making the batter I had to add a little splash of milk to losen it up a bit. It needed more of a banana flavor and they were a little to dry for me. Just an okay muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These muffins turned out very dense for me. The batter looked really thick as I was mixing it, and I had to add 2 T. oil to get it to come together...they were okay, but lacked overall flavor. They still taste okay, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I just HAD to review these. With very few adjustments, the were phenomenal. I had to stop myself from eating the whole batch. I was very skeptical that any muffin could taste good without oil or butter. This recipe proves that a healthful option is available without compromising taste or texture. The minor modifications I made: Used one whole egg with two whites; used raw turbinado sugar instead of brown sugar; used half white whole wheat (King Arthur) and half all purpose four; used double the cinnamon (and probably a bit more banana); added about 1/4 cup buttermilk because the batter was a bit dry. Absolutely delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I loved these! I made a few alterations that I think made them even tastier. I added an extra banana, some extra blueberries and extra cinnamon. I used two whole eggs and a little bit of extra sugar. I also had some peaches on hand that needed used so I chopped them up really small and threw them in . I added a little bit of heavy whipping cream because the batter was thicker than I thought it should be. My husband even liked these and he is not much for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
These were really good! I took others suggestions and ended up using 2 whole eggs and extra cinnamon. I also used the Splenda Brown Sugar and they came out great. My little guys loved them too. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Just made these and tried one--they are great muffins! I followed a reviewers advice and used 1/3 cup brown sugar, two whole eggs, and a whole teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added a pureed peach--I had one laying around about to go bad--and it added some extra sweetness. Use lots of blueberries so you get that delicious burst of taste in every bite. Can't wait to have another one of these good-for-you treats with a cup of coffee for my breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I just tasted these out of the oven and they are darn good considering they have no oil. I made my normal substitution of whole wheat pastry flour and EggBeaters. I also wanted to use my two large muffin pans so I increased the recipe by 50% and added some chopped fresh strawberries for the extra blueberries I would have needed. I usually sprinkle about 1/4 tsp of vanilla sugar on muffins before baking so I did this as well. The only thing I might add next time is a little salt. They were very good and I'll make them again because they are pretty much guilt-free and very easy to put together. For those who found them tough, do not overmix the batter. Whole wheat flours especially will develop gluten with too much mixing. It's best to fold the liquids into the flour with as few strokes as possible. It really makes a difference in the texture of any muffin or quickbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I wish I had read others' reviews before I made these. They are tough, dull and bland, totally not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States