Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I loved these! I made a few alterations that I think made them even tastier. I added an extra banana, some extra blueberries and extra cinnamon. I used two whole eggs and a little bit of extra sugar. I also had some peaches on hand that needed used so I chopped them up really small and threw them in . I added a little bit of heavy whipping cream because the batter was thicker than I thought it should be. My husband even liked these and he is not much for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
These were really good! I took others suggestions and ended up using 2 whole eggs and extra cinnamon. I also used the Splenda Brown Sugar and they came out great. My little guys loved them too. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Just made these and tried one--they are great muffins! I followed a reviewers advice and used 1/3 cup brown sugar, two whole eggs, and a whole teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added a pureed peach--I had one laying around about to go bad--and it added some extra sweetness. Use lots of blueberries so you get that delicious burst of taste in every bite. Can't wait to have another one of these good-for-you treats with a cup of coffee for my breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I just tasted these out of the oven and they are darn good considering they have no oil. I made my normal substitution of whole wheat pastry flour and EggBeaters. I also wanted to use my two large muffin pans so I increased the recipe by 50% and added some chopped fresh strawberries for the extra blueberries I would have needed. I usually sprinkle about 1/4 tsp of vanilla sugar on muffins before baking so I did this as well. The only thing I might add next time is a little salt. They were very good and I'll make them again because they are pretty much guilt-free and very easy to put together. For those who found them tough, do not overmix the batter. Whole wheat flours especially will develop gluten with too much mixing. It's best to fold the liquids into the flour with as few strokes as possible. It really makes a difference in the texture of any muffin or quickbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I wish I had read others' reviews before I made these. They are tough, dull and bland, totally not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a great starting off recipe. I too tweaked it a bit. I used 1.5 cups unbleached flour and 1/2 c w/w flour, added a 1/2 tsp salt, used 3 medium very ripe bananas. In a 1 cup measure, I cracked 2 lrg eggs, added 1/4 c veg oil and then filled to the 1 c line with milk. Mixed everything together til moist and was able to get 24 muffins. Cooked for 10 mins then rotated my pans and cooked for addt'l 10 mins. They are a touch on the bland side, but next time I will try adding a bit more sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
These were wonderful! I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, did 2 eggs (instead of egg whites), and instead of blueberries I added crasins. When you pour the batter into the muffin tin the batter looks very think and kind of dry, but when the come out of the oven they are great! I love this recipe because it is relatively healthy with whole wheat flour, only 1/3 cup of brown sugar and no oil, butter or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
These are great muffins!! I was so happy to find a recipe that used all wheat flour, as I had some extra whole-wheat pastry flour that I wanted to use. I added 2 egg yolks and had to use frozen blueberries because fresh ones are so expensive here; but they turned out great! Not too sweet either, just right with a nice touch of cinnamon flavor. The recipe made exactly enough for 12 regular-sized muffins. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought these were pretty disappointing. My two-year-old wasn't really into them either. Seems like something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberrygashes23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great muffins for my 1 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States