Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Ok muffins, lacked some flavor, and didn't rise very well. If I were to do these again, I would add about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I could be wrong, but I don't see the need for the baking soda, since there are very few acid producing ingredients in the recipe (perhaps this might have contributed to a lack of sufficient rising). You may get better rising results by eliminating the baking soda altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsjets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I might try using 1/2 wheat 1/2 white flour next time. I added both milk and oil to try and get the batter a bit thinner. I also used muffin cup liners and 1/4 of the muffin sticks to them. I guess they were OK but not a fav for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These are surprisingly yummy, considering all the ingredients are wholesome, healthy ones. No, they're not chocolate cupcakes, but my kids and I eat them up! I've made these 4 or 5 times now and I follow the recipe exactly. They freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POLAR BEAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
It was alright. The kids ate it, my husbend and I where not to happy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
For all you recipe-purists out there, don't hate me.. but I made about a million changes to this recipe. Used AP flour (that's all I had), 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 cup ground flaxseed, 1/3 cup rolled oats, 4 medium bananas, 3/4 cup soymilk, 3T applesauce, 2 whole eggs + 1 egg white, and 2 cups fresh blueberries. I also added a not-so-healthy streusel to the tops of the muffins consisting of 1/2 c flour, 1/2 c brown sugar, 4T butter, 1/4 c granola, 1/4 c rolled oats. Baked at 335 for 16 minutes. The result was a moist, slightly sweet muffin with a sinfully delightful crunch topping. YUMMMMM. The only problem is that the muffin sticks to the paper liner and you lose a lot of it when eating it. I don't know how to avoid that. I'll probably use this recipe a lot for a fairly simple and healthy way to use leftover bananas- plus you can sub the blueberries for a variety other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
not much flavor, needs salt maybe some dried cranberrys for a tart flavor, won't be making again unless I ALTER the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
They are an alright muffin. My husband and I don't mind them but my kids won't touch them. I changed three things; I used half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, added a few chocolate chips and I added some vanilla yogurt for flavor. I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I MADE A DOZEN OF THESE, USED ALL PURPOSE FLOUR INSTEAD OF WHEAT, DIDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING ELSE. TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. WILL MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
My 4-1/2 year old son helped me make these and it went great! Both of us and my hubby just loved these. My husband likes breads, cakes, muffins but is not a big sweets fan so these are right up his alley with most of the sugar coming from the fruit itself. I mostly followed the recipe only making the change of using whole eggs instead of whites, and even then I added a couple more eggs to the mix because it seemed the dough was a bit toooo thick when we went to put it in the pan. I have heard that cooking with wheat flour can make cakes/breads more dense and less fluffy so that might be why. The only other change I made is sprinkling some granola cereal and cinnamon on the very tops of the muffins before baking, and I made a double batch which made about two-three dozen depending on how full you filled the cups of the pan. Excellent recipe and will use it many more times in the future!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanaway, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I took some other reviewers' advice and sprinkled sugar on top. I also added about a tablespoon (or 2 maybe) of milk so the batter wouldn't be so thick. These were good, but not great. I will increase the sugar next time because they weren't sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States