Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wonderful! My 5 and 3 year olds loved this, as well. We used 2 whole eggs instead of only whites, and added a bit more banana and cinnamon. We sprinkled a tiny bit of cinnamon-sugar on top and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I am one of these cooks who really believes that any slight change in a recipe can have huge consequences. I just made a batch of these muffins, and my wife and 13 month old son ate half a dozen before they were cool. A couple things that I did differently: I sifted the flour with the dry ingredients - though I still used the larger grains of the flour. I used margarine instead of butter. I used large eggs and ended up with about 1/2 a cup of egg white from four eggs. I used two bananas that were so ripe they were black (never frozen though). Incidentally, two large bananas were exactly 1.5 cups mashed. I very precisely measured all ingredients, though the blueberries were probably a bit more than one cup. These were fresh, not frozen. The biggest change was that after putting in a spoonful of batter, I put in a teaspoon of blueberry jam. Then I filled the rest of the muffin cup up to about 80% full. I baked these muffins on the top rack for 20 minutes. They did not rise a lot, but they did rise more than the picture that is posted with the original recipe. It made one dozen fantastic, moist, and delicious muffins. This is a recipe that I'll use again and again... Oh, one more thing. I let the batter sit for about 20 minutes before I put it in the oven... This was by accident though cause I couldn't find the muffin pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
So easy - so tasty! I wanted a healthy alternative to cake, so I made these for my one year old to take to day care to celebrate her birthday. I did tweak the recipe some-- (I doubled the recipe) I added a couple egg yoks, a little extra vanila and a whole lot of blueberries. Then I baked them in mini-muffin pans instead of a cake pan, and baked them a few degrees cooler. They came out very moist and flavorful. I think the trick is to pack them full of blueberries. One of the teachers even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made these for breakfast. My 5 year old did not like the blueberries. I used 3 whole eggs and 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 unbleached flour, and a drop of milk to make the batter a bit creamier. Next time I will use more bannanas (I used 2 1/2-not enough.) The bluberries make it sweet. This is a healthy alternative to traditional bannana muffins I have made in the past with butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I changed the brown sugar to 1/2 cup sugar. I used 2 whites. I added 3/4 cup skim milk, 1 tablespoon oil, 2 tablespoons natural applesauce, and a little salt. I had 3/4 cup banana and 1 1/4 cup blueberries. I baked them at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. Next time I will try all applesauce and use splenda for half of the sugar. My husband, 2yr old, and I really liked them. My husband said they taste more like a quick bread than a muffin, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEALTHYMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These muffins are okay, but not great. I made it as stated, except my bananas only yielded 1 cup so I added some applesauce to make the 1 1/2 cups. I also used two whole eggs instead of the 4 egg whites. They were a bit too heavy for my kids due to the fact that these are made with all whole wheat flour. If I make them again, I will probably use 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour. Overall, it is a healthy recipe with close to 1/2 fruit serving in every muffin. I like the fact that there is no added oil, yet they were still very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Surprisingly good!It fit my craving and severe lack of ingredients-- no butter or oil, no applesauce to sub. I had no blueberries so I cut up a can of dark sweet cherries (which turned them blue!) and I used 3 whole eggs and 1/2whole wheat, 1/2 regular flour. Didn't measure the bananas, just mashed up 3 of them. Added a handful of chocolate chips and a crunchy topping of granola cereal with some extra sugar and cinnamon. Delicious!! Especially when warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyScoop

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A quick recipe, but not too much flavor, besides the blueberries. Adding a little sugar on the top before putting them in the oven helps to sweeten it up, and yes it does need tweaking. The mix after adding the egg white mixture was too dry and I had to add more egg whites. Using all whole wheat flour can make them too bready, maybe doing half wheat and half white; I'll let you know when I try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
It's a pretty easy recipe to follow and very healthy for a muffing, however it lacks taste. Adding walnuts helped but the muffing dried up after a couple of days. I see the potential in this recipe, but it requires tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I was looking for anything to use my bananas and blueberries in and decided on this. Took tips from reviews and did make a few changes, but in the end came out good. I'm sure I had more blueberries, bananas, cinnmon, and vanilla than called for. Did the half wheat half white flour, and only had three eggs so did two whites and one whole. When mixed up it was too thick so added about 1/3 whole milk. Sprinkled the top with raw sugar- looks and tastes better for garnishing! It does taste healthy, but the sugar and extra berries saved it. Thinking served with butter and jam it would be more delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EccoXile

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States